Best Online MPH Programs in Alabama | 2027 Rankings

Compare CEPH-accredited programs by cost, concentrations, and career outcomes for Alabama residents and beyond.

By Carrie HirschReviewed by PAP Editoral TeamUpdated August 29, 202625+ min read

What you’ll learn in this article…

  • Seven CEPH-accredited MPH programs serve Alabama residents online in 2026.
  • Most Alabama online MPH programs no longer require the GRE.
  • CPH and CHES certifications are both available to Alabama graduates.

Alabama contends with stubbornly high rates of chronic disease and a widening gap in rural health access, creating urgent demand for trained public health professionals. An online MPH from an in-state program lets you advance your credentials without leaving the communities that need you most. The seven programs ranked here weigh academic quality, CEPH accreditation, and graduate outcomes, not just price or completion speed. Specializations in rural health equity, epidemiology, health promotion, and environmental health mirror the state’s workforce priorities. Tuition spans a wide band, from under $4,000 to over $14,000, and several schools charge a single online rate regardless of residency. For Alabama’s county health departments, hospital systems, and advocacy organizations, an MPH is increasingly the baseline credential for leadership and specialized roles, not a luxury.

Ranked: Best Online MPH Programs in Alabama

Alabama's online and hybrid MPH options run from the state's only accredited school of public health to newer, fully online generalist degrees. The seven programs below are ordered by a mix of quality signals rather than by cost or completion speed, so the top of the list reflects overall strength rather than the cheapest seat in the state.

Factors considered
  • First-year retention rates
  • Median graduate debt loads
  • Student-faculty ratios
  • Program-level details and accreditation
Data sources
  • NCES-IPEDS federal institutional data covering graduation rates, retention rates and student-faculty ratios — nces.ed.gov
  • College Scorecard graduate earnings — collegescorecard.ed.gov
  • Program-level records maintained in house
  • Independent program research
  1. #1

    University of Alabama at Birmingham

    Birmingham, AL · $9,000/yr

    Best for: Alabama clinicians moving into population health

    UAB anchors public health education in Alabama through its School of Public Health, the only CEPH-accredited school of public health in the state. The MPH spans six concentrations, ranging from epidemiology and environmental health to maternal and child health policy and leadership, with fully online options and fast-track master's pathways for strong undergraduates. Birmingham's dense health care and research corridor supplies internships, fieldwork, and applied projects, and graduates move into local and state agencies as well as hospitals and nonprofit organizations.

    View program
    CEPH accredited
    • Six concentration options
    • Environmental and Occupational Health track
    • Epidemiology, Health Behavior, and Population Health tracks
    • Health Organization and Policy concentration
    • Maternal and Child Health Policy and Leadership concentration
    • Only CEPH-accredited school of public health in Alabama
    • Fast-track master's pathways available
    • Internships and applied practice experience
  2. #2

    The University of Alabama

    Tuscaloosa, AL · $12,000/yr

    Best for: Working health educators in rural communities

    The University of Alabama's MPH in Health Education & Promotion is a 42-credit hybrid program built around health equity, with coursework in program planning, implementation, and evaluation layered on top of epidemiology, biostatistics, and health behavior. Students complete an integrated applied practice experience, and three start dates a year keep the pace workable for practicing professionals. Graduates are eligible for the CHES and CPH certification exams, and the program holds current CEPH accreditation with reaccreditation scheduled for 2028.

    View program
    CEPH accredited
    • CEPH-accredited program, reaccreditation scheduled for 2028
    • 42 total credit hours
    • Hybrid delivery with three start dates each year (fall, spring, summer)
    • Health equity focused curriculum
    • Integrated applied practice experience plus 75 clinical hours
    • Graduates eligible for CHES and CPH certification
    • 3.0 GPA minimum and 3 letters of recommendation
    • Video required as part of the application
  3. #3

    Columbia Southern University

    Orange Beach, AL · $4,000/yr

    Best for: Cost-conscious working adults returning mid-career

    Columbia Southern University is an Alabama-based online institution in Orange Beach whose MPH concentrates in community health education, with a general option for students who want broader latitude across public health roles. Eight-week courses and multiple start dates make it a flexible route for working adults, and tuition is the same regardless of residency. Textbooks are included in tuition, military benefits and transfer credits are accepted, and no GRE is required.

    View program
    Military benefits
    • $359 per credit graduate tuition
    • Textbooks included in tuition
    • 8-week courses with multiple start dates
    • Fully online delivery
    • Community Health Education concentration plus a general option
    • Military benefits and transfer credits accepted
    • Scholarships and financial aid available
    • No GRE required
  4. #4

    Spring Hill College

    Mobile, AL · $9,000/yr

    Spring Hill College brings a small private-college setting to Alabama's online MPH landscape, with a fully online curriculum covering epidemiology, biostatistics, health policy, ethics, social and behavioral health, and health communication. A 70-hour practicum places students in a community setting, and electives in global health, environmental health, and gender health let them shape the degree around a specialty. Admissions are test-optional with no entrance exam, the application is free, and faculty mentorship is a stated priority.

    View program
    No entrance examTest optional
    • Fully online MPH
    • 41 total credit hours
    • 70-hour practicum in a community setting
    • Test-optional admissions with no entrance exam and no application fee
    • Electives in global health, environmental health, and gender health
    • Completable in 2 to 4 years
    • Transfer up to 9 credits
    • 3.0 GPA minimum and 3 letters of recommendation
  5. #5

    Oakwood University

    Huntsville, AL · $10,000 – $15,000/yr

    HBCU

    Oakwood University in Huntsville offers a nutrition and wellness MPH that stands apart in Alabama for its plant-based, Christ-centered curriculum. Alongside core public health coursework, students take targeted classes in vegetarian nutrition, ethnic food practices, and health disparities, then put them to work in communities carrying heavy diet-related chronic disease burdens. A capstone research project, a practicum, and a roughly two-year online timeline make the degree accessible to working professionals, and the training maps to Commission on Dietetic Registration standards.

    View program
    • 100% online, completable in 22 to 24 months
    • Nutrition and Wellness concentration with a plant-based focus
    • Coursework in vegetarian nutrition, ethnic food practices, and health disparities
    • Capstone research project and practicum required
    • Prepares students for Commission on Dietetic Registration standards
    • Transfer up to 9 credits
    • 2.5 GPA minimum with prerequisite courses
    • Christ-centered curriculum
  6. #6

    University of South Alabama

    Mobile, AL · $9,000/yr

    The University of South Alabama builds its MPH around the health disparities of Lower Alabama and the Gulf Coast, with tracks in health inequities, social and behavioral health sciences, and gerontology. Hybrid delivery through Hy-Flex, online, and in-person formats gives students in Mobile and nearby rural counties genuine scheduling latitude, and full-time or part-time pacing supports career changers. Internships and community-based projects tie the 42-credit curriculum to USA Health priorities and rural health initiatives.

    View program
    • 42 total credit hours
    • Hy-Flex, online, and in-person delivery
    • Concentrations in health inequities, social and behavioral health sciences, and gerontology
    • Full-time or part-time pace, typically 4 to 5 semesters full time
    • Fall start with applications due by July 15, 2026
    • Experiential learning through internships and fieldwork
    • Focus on disparities in Lower Alabama and the Gulf Coast
    • 3.0 GPA minimum and 2 letters of recommendation
  7. #7

    Jacksonville State University

    Jacksonville, AL · $10,000 – $15,000/yr

    Jacksonville State University's generalist MPH is one of the newest additions to Alabama's public health education landscape, extending access for students in the northeast part of the state who previously had few nearby options. The fully online curriculum covers epidemiology, biostatistics, health policy, management, and program evaluation, capped by an internship and a capstone project. That broad training suits smaller county health departments and local agencies that need versatile staff rather than narrow specialists.

    View program
    • Fully online generalist MPH
    • Internship and capstone project required
    • Curriculum covers epidemiology, biostatistics, health policy, and program evaluation
    • Prepares graduates for administrator, manager, and policy analyst roles
    • New program addition to Jacksonville State
    • Financial aid available

Alabama Online MPH Tuition and Cost Comparison

Tuition can vary dramatically depending on residency status and whether a school charges a flat online rate. The table below compares program-level tuition (where available), institution-wide net price after aid, and median graduate debt for every ranked Alabama MPH program. Net price figures reflect an institution-wide average after financial aid as reported to the U.S. Department of Education (IPEDS and College Scorecard, 2023). They are not per-student guarantees and your actual cost will depend on your individual aid package. Out-of-state students should pay close attention to schools that charge a single flat rate for all online learners, since that can eliminate thousands of dollars in surcharges. For a broader look at budget-friendly options nationwide, see the affordable MPH programs guide on publicadministrationpolicy.org.

SchoolIn-State Program TuitionOut-of-State Program TuitionFlat Online Rate?Institution Net Price (Avg. After Aid)Median Graduate DebtEst. 10-Year Monthly Payment
Columbia Southern University$3,936$3,936Yes$14,580$21,339Not reported
Jacksonville State University$11,488$17,920No$14,279$22,189Not reported
University of Alabama at Birmingham (UAB)$8,640$21,168No$18,749$22,300Not reported
Spring Hill College$8,857$8,857Yes$20,449$27,000Not reported
University of South Alabama$9,360$18,000No$17,648$24,929Not reported
The University of Alabama$11,980$33,972No$22,420$22,750Not reported
Oakwood University$14,516$14,516Yes$25,669$27,000Not reported

Questions to Ask Yourself

Do you need a CEPH accredited program to reach your career goals?
State and federal public health jobs, and every CPH exam pathway, require a CEPH accredited degree, so confirm this before comparing price or convenience.
Are you eligible for in-state tuition or a flat online rate?
Alabama residency status can shift your total cost by thousands of dollars per year, and some online programs charge one flat rate regardless of residency.
Can you complete your practicum near where you live and work?
A convenient Applied Practice Experience site, such as a local health department or hospital system, saves travel time and often becomes a direct pipeline to your first job.
Does the concentration match the jobs you actually want in Alabama?
Epidemiology, health policy, and biostatistics tracks lead to different employers, so weigh fit against a program's overall ranking or reputation.

CEPH Accreditation: Why It Matters for Alabama MPH Students

When evaluating MPH programs in Alabama, accreditation status should be at the top of your checklist. The Council on Education for Public Health (CEPH) serves as the nationally recognized accrediting body for schools and programs in public health, and choosing a CEPH-accredited program has direct consequences for your career, credentials, and financial aid eligibility.

What CEPH Accreditation Means for You

CEPH accreditation signals that a program meets rigorous standards for curriculum, faculty qualifications, student outcomes, and competency development. For Alabama students, this matters in several practical ways:

  • Certification eligibility: Only graduates of CEPH-accredited programs can sit for the Certified in Public Health (CPH) examination, the field's primary professional credential.
  • Federal financial aid: CEPH accreditation is required for students to access federal student loans, grants, and work-study programs.
  • Employer recognition: Many state and federal public health positions, including roles with the Alabama Department of Public Health and CDC, require or strongly prefer candidates with degrees from CEPH-accredited institutions.
  • Credit transferability: If you ever need to transfer credits or pursue additional graduate work, CEPH accreditation ensures your coursework will be recognized by other accredited institutions.

Schools vs. Standalone Programs

CEPH distinguishes between accredited schools of public health and accredited standalone programs. A school of public health typically offers multiple degree levels and concentrations, while a standalone program may offer a single MPH track. Both carry equal weight for CPH eligibility and employer credibility, but the distinction reflects the scope and resources of the institution.

Alabama currently has one CEPH-accredited school of public health: the UAB School of Public Health, which received its initial accreditation in October 1978 and was most recently renewed in August 2023 with accreditation through December 2030.1 UAB offers both on-campus and online delivery options.

Tuskegee University operates a CEPH-accredited standalone MPH program, with accreditation granted for the 2022 to 2027 term.2 This program provides an alternative path for students seeking a CEPH-accredited credential.

Programs Without CEPH Accreditation

Several other Alabama institutions offer MPH or related degrees that do not currently hold CEPH accreditation. These include the University of Alabama's Health Education and Promotion MPH (designed with eventual CEPH accreditation in mind)3, Samford University's MPH, Spring Hill College's public health program, and Columbia Southern University's online MPH.

Choosing a non-accredited program limits your eligibility for the CPH exam, may restrict access to certain federal positions, and could complicate transferring credits or pursuing doctoral work. For most students planning public health careers in Alabama, a CEPH-accredited program represents the safest investment.

For broader context on how accreditation fits into your public health career path, explore our public health degrees and careers guide.

Admissions Requirements and GRE Policies for Alabama Online MPH Programs

Alabama’s online MPH admissions landscape rewards candidates who present a strong academic record, but GRE requirements have largely become conditional or waived entirely across the state’s leading programs. While each school sets its own bar, the trend is clear: a solid undergraduate GPA can open the door without standardized testing, and work experience may tip the scales even further.

GRE-Optional Policies: Who Needs to Submit Scores?

  • UAB Online MPH: The GRE is waived for all master’s degree applicants. If you have fewer than five years of full-time public health practice and a GPA below 3.0, UAB strongly encourages (but does not require) test scores to strengthen your file.1
  • Samford University Online MPH: No GRE needed when your cumulative GPA is 3.0 or higher. Candidates with a GPA under 3.0 may submit GRE scores (Verbal 153, Quantitative 144, Analytical 4.0) to be considered for conditional admission.3
  • University of Alabama Online MPH: The program publishes GRE score benchmarks in the 35th to 40th percentile range, indicating that test scores remain part of the evaluation for most applicants.4 The online track’s requirements may differ from the on-campus program; applicants should confirm current policies directly.

For a broader list of programs that do not require the GRE, see our guide to no-GRE MPH programs online.

GPA Thresholds and Prerequisites

  • Minimum GPA: UAB prefers a 3.0 overall undergraduate GPA.1 Samford requires a 3.0 cumulative GPA.3 The University of Alabama online MPH does not publish a fixed minimum GPA; applicants should review the most recent admissions guidelines.
  • Prerequisite coursework: UAB imposes no specific course prerequisites for admission to the MPH.2 Samford does not list prerequisite courses as a hard requirement but expects candidates to demonstrate readiness through their academic background. The University of Alabama online program has no published prerequisite coursework; contact the program for details.

Application Components and Deadlines

All three programs ask for a completed graduate application, official transcripts, a personal statement, and letters of recommendation. UAB and Samford place particular weight on the personal statement as a way to articulate your career goals in public health. As for timing, UAB offers multiple start terms with deadlines that vary by concentration, effectively operating on a rolling admissions calendar. Samford follows more traditional fixed deadlines, while the University of Alabama online MPH typically aligns with fall, spring, and summer entry points. Because admission cycles can shift, checking each school’s current dates early in your search is a smart move, especially if you are targeting funding or assistantship opportunities.

How Long Does It Take to Complete an Online MPH in Alabama?

Program length depends on pace and credit load. Most CEPH-accredited online MPH programs in Alabama require 42 to 45 credit hours and can be completed in roughly two years of full-time study. Part-time schedules, which are the most popular option among working professionals in Alabama's public health workforce, typically extend completion to three years. A small number of accelerated tracks allow students to finish in as few as 18 months by taking heavier course loads during summer terms.

Typical online MPH completion timelines in Alabama: 1.5 years accelerated, 2 years full-time, and 3 years part-time

Concentrations That Match Alabama Employer Demand

Choosing a concentration is less about personal interest and more about addressing gaps in Alabama's public health workforce. The state faces stubborn challenges in rural health access, some of the nation's highest chronic disease rates, and maternal mortality figures that consistently rank among the worst in the country. Your concentration choice determines whether you graduate with skills that Alabama employers urgently need or credentials that require relocation to find work.

Epidemiology and Health Behavior: Meeting Chronic Disease Needs

Alabama's burden of heart disease, diabetes, and obesity creates steady demand for professionals trained in epidemiology and health behavior. UAB offers both concentrations, positioning graduates to work directly with the Alabama Department of Public Health on disease surveillance and community intervention programs. Epidemiology training prepares you for outbreak investigation and data analysis roles that every county health department needs but struggles to fill. Health behavior concentrations align with prevention-focused initiatives, including tobacco cessation and diabetes management programs that the state has prioritized.

Maternal and Child Health: Addressing Alabama's Crisis

UAB stands alone among Alabama programs in offering a Maternal and Child Health Policy and Leadership concentration. This specialization directly addresses the state's maternal mortality crisis, which disproportionately affects Black women in rural counties. Graduates with this focus find roles in hospital quality improvement, community health centers, and state-level policy positions working to expand prenatal care access.

Environmental and Occupational Health: Industrial Corridor Opportunities

Alabama's manufacturing economy and Gulf Coast location create specific environmental health challenges. UAB's Environmental and Occupational Health concentration prepares graduates for positions with industrial employers, the Alabama Department of Environmental Management, and occupational safety roles in the state's automotive and aerospace sectors.

Health Equity and Community Health: Broadly Available Options

Several programs emphasize health equity and community health, reflecting statewide workforce priorities. The University of Alabama offers a Health Education and Promotion concentration with an explicit health equity focus. University of South Alabama provides concentrations in Health Inequities and Social and Behavioral Health Sciences, with curriculum designed around the health disparities unique to Lower Alabama's rural and coastal communities. Columbia Southern and Oakwood University offer community-focused tracks that prepare graduates for health education and wellness promotion roles.

Unique Specializations Worth Noting

Oakwood University's Nutrition and Wellness concentration is distinctive, preparing graduates for registered dietitian credentials with an emphasis on plant-based nutrition. University of South Alabama offers Gerontology as a concentration option, increasingly relevant as Alabama's population ages and rural counties struggle to provide elder care services.

Students interested in the policy mechanisms that shape public health funding and regulations should also explore Alabama online MPA and Alabama MPP graduate programs, which complement MPH training for careers in government health agencies and nonprofit leadership.

Applied Practice Experience and Practicum Options for Online MPH Students in Alabama

How do online MPH students in Alabama complete the required field experience when they may be hundreds of miles from campus? The answer lies in programs designed to let you fulfill the Applied Practice Experience (APE) locally, building a professional network right where you live.

Every CEPH-accredited MPH program includes a substantial practice component, and Alabama’s online offerings are no exception.4 Both UAB and the University of Alabama require a structured internship or practice sequence, even for fully remote learners. The specific hours and structure differ by school, but the goal is the same: translate classroom knowledge into public health action under the guidance of an experienced preceptor.

UAB’s Internship: 180 Hours and a Portfolio of Competencies

UAB’s online MPH requires a 180-contact-hour internship completed in a single semester.1 Before enrolling in the practicum course (PUH 688), you must finish all core coursework, ensuring you enter the field with a solid foundation.1 The experience is tracked through the school’s APEx portal, and you will produce at least two work products that demonstrate mastery of five MPH competencies.2 A background check is mandatory, and the internship site may impose additional screening.3 Online students follow the identical requirements as on-campus peers but are explicitly allowed to complete the placement in their local community.4

University of Alabama’s Two-Course APE Sequence

At the University of Alabama, the practice experience is embedded in a two-course sequence (HHE 580 and HHE 581).5 The required hours are lower, at 75 hours total, but you still produce two work products that address public health competencies.5 Like UAB, UA does not waive the requirement for online students. Instead, you identify a public health organization and a qualified preceptor in your area, with the program’s approval.5 The smaller hourly commitment can be an advantage for working professionals balancing employment and coursework.

Placement Options Across Alabama’s Public Health Landscape

Online students in both programs can pursue placements with a wide range of organizations. While specific formal partnerships are not always guaranteed, typical site types mirror the state’s public health infrastructure: - Government agencies: The Alabama Department of Public Health (ADPH) and county health departments frequently host interns. - Hospital systems: UAB Health System, Huntsville Hospital, and other regional medical centers offer settings for community health and epidemiology projects. - Nonprofits and FQHCs: Federally qualified health centers and community-based organizations addressing health disparities provide rich learning environments. Online learners are not limited to a campus-defined list; they can propose sites that match their career interests and location.

Who Arranges the Site? Self-Placement with Program Support

Both UAB and UA rely on student self-placement. You are responsible for identifying a suitable organization and preceptor and securing their agreement. However, neither program leaves you completely on your own. UAB offers placement assistance and maintains a network of potential sites,4 while UA guides students through a selection process that ensures the site can deliver the required competencies.5 This model gives you the flexibility to choose an experience that aligns with your career goals, whether that means deepening ties in your hometown or exploring a new practice area.

Why the Practicum Matters: Building Your Alabama Network

The APE is more than a graduation requirement. It is your first job audition in Alabama’s public health community. The relationships you build with preceptors, health department staff, and community partners can lead to permanent positions, reference letters, and professional mentorships. Many graduates point to their practicum as the bridge between academic preparation and a career in public health administration. Approaching it as a strategic step will pay dividends long after you submit your final work products.

Scholarships and Financial Aid for Alabama Online MPH Students

Paying for a Master of Public Health often means stacking several funding sources: institutional scholarships, external awards, employer benefits, and federal aid. Most CEPH-accredited online MPH programs in Alabama treat degree-seeking distance learners the same as on-campus students when it comes to scholarship eligibility, provided you meet enrollment and GPA thresholds.

Institutional Scholarships Worth Targeting

  • UAB School of Public Health: All endowed awards are managed through the BSMART portal, so you must be an admitted student to view full details. The Bill and Judy Bridgers Endowed Scholarship requires a 3.0 GPA and supports graduate public health students broadly.1 Additional named funds like the Cox, Myers, and Ryals scholarships are also available to UAB MPH students with internal criteria. The Coverdell Fellows programCoverdell Fellows program for Returned Peace Corps Volunteers provides up to $8,000 over two years plus in-state tuition and is open to fully online MPH students who maintain at least 9 credits per term.
  • Samford University: The Mann Scholarships offer $1,000 to $5,000 per year, renewable for up to six semesters for incoming MPH students who carry a minimum 3.0 GPA and enroll in at least 6 credits. A separate Dean’s Scholarship provides a one-time award to School of Public Health graduate students, although the amount is not published. Both can apply to online MPH enrollees; the Mann Scholarship requires a distinct application and cannot be combined with other Samford institutional aid.
  • University of Alabama: All UA scholarship opportunities are accessible through the AcademicWorks system via myBama. Since specific MPH award names and amounts are only visible after login, admitted students should check the portal before the 2026-2027 deadline of March 2, 2026.
  • Other institutions: Spring Hill College and Columbia Southern University do not publish MPH-specific scholarship details as of 2026. Prospective students should contact their financial aid offices directly for any institutional grants or discounts.

External Funding Sources

Several national scholarships are open to Alabama residents enrolled in any accredited online MPH program:

  • Corris Boyd Scholars Program: $40,000 for students of color pursuing an MPH or MHA at an accredited school.
  • Winston Scholarship Program: $10,000 aimed at increasing diversity in public health leadership.
  • McGaw Graduate Student Scholarship and Albert W. Dent Graduate Student Scholarship: $5,000 each for students from underrepresented backgrounds.
  • SOPHE 21st Century Student Scholarship: $1,500 for health education and public health majors.
  • NEHA/AAS Scholarship: $2,500 to $3,750 for students interested in environmental health practice.2

Additionally, the Alabama Department of Public Health occasionally offers workforce development grants or loan repayment programs for employees, though availability varies year to year. The HRSA Scholarships for Disadvantaged Students program provides funding through participating universities but institutional participation has not been confirmed for the schools listed here. SOPHAS fee assistance can also reduce upfront application costs for qualifying applicants.

Graduate Assistantships and Employer Support

Online MPH students often have fewer assistantship opportunities than campus-based peers because many positions require physical presence. Some programs, however, offer remote research or teaching assistantships on a case-by-case basis. Check with your program coordinator early.

For working public health professionals in Alabama, employer tuition reimbursement remains one of the most common funding paths. County health departments, hospital systems, and nonprofit organizations often provide partial or full tuition coverage as a benefit. If you are balancing a job and school, pairing employer support with a modest institutional scholarship can dramatically lower your out-of-pocket cost. For more strategies, see our guide to affordable online MPH programs.

Career Outcomes and Earnings for Alabama MPH Graduates

Public health workforce planning in Alabama increasingly relies on hard data about what graduates actually earn rather than vague promises of rewarding careers. Unfortunately, program-level earnings data for most Alabama MPH programs remains unpublished at the one-year and four-year marks, making direct salary comparisons across schools difficult. What prospective students can evaluate is the broader financial picture: median debt at graduation compared to institution-wide earnings data, which provides useful context for return on investment.

What the Available Data Shows

Institution-wide median earnings ten years after enrollment offer a supplemental lens on graduate outcomes, though these figures reflect all programs at a university, not MPH students specifically. The University of Alabama at Birmingham reports median earnings of $54,501 at the ten-year mark, while The University of Alabama in Tuscaloosa shows $59,221. Columbia Southern University comes in at $63,534, though its different student population and program mix makes direct comparison less meaningful.

For context, median graduate debt levels vary significantly across Alabama institutions. UAB graduates carry approximately $22,300 in median debt, while UA Tuscaloosa shows $22,750. Spring Hill College reports $27,000, and Oakwood University matches at $27,000. These figures represent all graduate programs, but they help frame what students might reasonably expect to borrow.

Return on Investment Considerations

When comparing median debt to median institutional earnings, Columbia Southern University shows a favorable ratio of roughly 2.98, followed by The University of Alabama at 2.60 and UAB at 2.44. Lower debt burdens at Columbia Southern (median of $21,339) contribute to this calculation, though prospective students should weigh CEPH accreditation status and employer recognition alongside raw numbers.

Employment outcomes specific to MPH graduates in Alabama are not currently reported at the program level. Students seeking concrete employment data should contact individual programs directly or consult the Alabama Department of Public Health, which tracks workforce statistics for state employees in epidemiology, health education, and administrative roles. Bureau of Labor Statistics data indicates strong projected growth for epidemiologists and health education specialists nationally, which generally holds for Alabama given ongoing investments in rural health infrastructure and chronic disease prevention.

CPH and CHES Certification Paths for Alabama Graduates

Alabama MPH graduates can pursue two key credentials that strengthen their public health careers: the Certified in Public Health (CPH) designation from the NBPHE and the Certified Health Education Specialist (CHES) or Master CHES (MCHES) credential from the NCHEC. Each follows a distinct pathway with different eligibility rules. Alabama employers such as the Alabama Department of Public Health and hospital community health programs most frequently require or prefer CHES for health education roles, while CPH is valued for epidemiology, program management, and generalist public health positions.

Three-step credentialing ladder from CEPH-accredited MPH degree to CPH and CHES or MCHES certification for Alabama public health graduates

Common Questions About Online MPH Programs in Alabama

Below are answers to the questions Alabama residents ask most often when researching online Master of Public Health programs. Each response draws on program details, accreditation records, and career data discussed earlier in this guide. For the most current admissions policies and tuition schedules, always confirm directly with the university.

  1. Which online MPH programs in Alabama are CEPH accredited?

    Two universities offer CEPH-accredited online MPH programs to Alabama residents. The University of Alabama at Birmingham (UAB) holds accreditation through the Council on Education for Public Health and is recognized as Alabama's only CEPH-accredited School of Public Health.1 The University of Alabama (UA) also carries CEPH accreditation for its online MPH in Health Education and Promotion.2 These are the primary online MPH options in the state. Always verify current status through the CEPH directory before applying.

  2. How much does an online MPH cost in Alabama?

    Total costs depend on the program you choose and your residency status. UA's online MPH requires 42 credits2 and charges a $60 application fee plus a $250 online fee per course.3 UAB's campus program is frequently cited as among the most affordable in the state, though per-credit rates for its online format are not publicly listed.1 Across both programs, expect 42 to 48 total credits. Check each university's current graduate tuition schedule and fee structure for the most accurate estimate.

  3. Do Alabama online MPH programs require the GRE?

    GRE policies vary by program. The University of Alabama has historically required GRE scores, with minimum thresholds around the 35th to 40th percentiles, though that policy may have been updated.3 UAB does not prominently specify a GRE requirement for its online MPH tracks. Nationally, many programs have moved to GRE-optional or GRE-waiver policies for qualified applicants. Because admissions requirements can shift from one cycle to the next, confirm the current policy on each program's admissions page before you apply.

  4. How long does it take to complete an online MPH in Alabama?

    Full-time students typically finish in about 24 months at both UA3 and UAB1. Part-time enrollment extends the timeline to roughly two and a half to three years or longer, depending on how many courses you take each semester. UA's program is structured around a 42-credit curriculum designed for two-year completion.2 If you need a faster path, some out-of-state online programs offer accelerated formats, but within Alabama the standard timeline is two years at a full-time pace.

  5. How do online MPH students in Alabama complete their practicum or field experience?

    CEPH accreditation requires every MPH program to include an applied practice experience. UA builds a 3-credit internship into its curriculum.3 Students typically complete supervised fieldwork near their home community, which means Alabama-based learners can arrange placements with the Alabama Department of Public Health, county health departments, hospital systems, or community health centers. UAB also integrates practice-based education into its online tracks.1 Exact hour requirements vary by program, so review each school's practicum handbook for specifics on approved sites and documentation.

  6. What can you do with an MPH degree in Alabama?

    Alabama MPH graduates commonly pursue roles such as epidemiologist, health educator, and program coordinator. Employers include state and county health departments, hospital systems, nonprofit organizations, and community health centers. UA's Health Education and Promotion concentration prepares graduates for both the Certified Health Education Specialist (CHES) and Certified in Public Health (CPH) credentials2, which can strengthen your candidacy. Public health professionals in Alabama also find opportunities in policy analysis, data-driven program evaluation, and maternal and child health initiatives.

  7. Is an online MPH from Alabama respected by employers?

    Yes. Both UAB1 and UA2 hold CEPH accreditation, the gold standard for public health education, and both universities carry regional accreditation as well. Employers, particularly state health agencies and hospital systems in Alabama, recognize CEPH-accredited degrees regardless of delivery format. Online graduates earn the same diploma and meet the same competency requirements as on-campus peers. The key factor for employer confidence is accreditation status, not whether courses were completed in person or online.

Recent Articles