CEPH-accredited programs ranked by cost, outcomes, and flexibility for Texas residents and beyond
By Carrie HirschReviewed by PAP Editoral TeamUpdated August 29, 202625+ min read
What you’ll learn in this article…
Most ranked Texas online MPH programs no longer require the GRE for admission.
In-state tuition ranges from roughly $9,000 to over $80,000 across programs.
CPH and CHES certifications increasingly appear as preferred qualifications in Texas job postings.
A Master of Public Health, or MPH, is a graduate credential that trains professionals to manage disease surveillance, community health programs, and health policy work, and in Texas, demand for that training is unusually steep. The state’s 254 counties include some of the fastest-growing metro corridors in the country alongside persistent rural health deserts, and its border region carries distinct epidemiological pressures that few other states face. Local health departments, hospital systems, and community health centers are hiring for that mismatch now.
Nine CEPH-accredited MPH programs currently serve Texas residents through online or hybrid formats, ranked below by delivery flexibility, cost, and completion outcomes.
The practical tension for most applicants isn’t whether an MPH pays off. It’s which program’s tuition structure, admissions bar, and concentration lineup actually match a working adult’s constraints in a state where employer need already outpaces the credentialed workforce.
Ranked: Best Online MPH Programs in Texas
These are the online-eligible Master of Public Health programs in Texas that stood out in our 2026 review, including fully online degrees and hybrid options that let students stay close to home. Many are designed around working professionals, with multiple start terms each year and coursework you can complete alongside a full-time job. The entries below are ordered by a composite of quality and cost signals, weighted toward programs built for remote learners.
Factors considered
First-year retention rates
Median graduate debt
Graduate earnings outcomes
Net price and tuition cost
Online availability for Texas students
Data sources
NCES-IPEDS federal institutional data covering graduation rates, retention rates and student-faculty ratios — nces.ed.gov
Best for: Undergraduates accelerating into graduate study
UT Dallas is a public research university in Richardson where public health study runs through the School of Economic, Political and Policy Sciences. Its accelerated pathway lets strong undergraduates begin graduate public health coursework as early as junior year through a partnership with UTHealth Houston, earning a graduate certificate before transitioning into a master's program. The curriculum blends policy analysis with epidemiology, biostatistics and data science, community health practice, and healthcare management, preparing graduates for community, state, national and global health roles.
View program
Accelerated pathway begins as early as junior year of the bachelor's degree
Partnership with the UTHealth Houston School of Public Health
Graduate Certificate in Public Health earned along the way
Seamless transition into a master's program at UTHealth
Core areas include epidemiology, biostatistics and data science
Also covers community health practice and healthcare management
Built on the School of Economic, Political and Policy Sciences
Prepares graduates for CDC and U.S. Public Health Service roles
Best for: Working professionals at public health agencies
Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center in Lubbock anchors its public health work in the Julia Jones Matthews School of Population and Public Health. Its Master of Public Health is delivered 100% online, is CEPH accredited, and keeps a generalist core so students can specialize later. An Applied Practice Experience, a capstone, and three start terms a year make it workable for professionals who are already employed, and a new fully online epidemiology concentration opens in Fall 2026.
View program
CEPH accredited
CEPH accredited, with accreditation running through July 1, 2031
UT Tyler is a public university in East Texas whose online MPH concentrates on Rural Population Health. Evening online classes, a 15-month accelerated completion path, and no entrance exam requirement make the degree accessible to people who are working full time. Coursework covers health care systems, policy, leadership, systems thinking, and how to analyze health outcomes across levels of rurality.
View program
No entrance exam
Concentration in Rural Population Health
No entrance exam required for admission
Can be completed in as little as 15 months
14 courses total, with full-time and part-time options
Fully online evening classes built around working schedules
Capstone required, plus multiple internship opportunities
3.0 GPA minimum and three letters of recommendation
$50 application fee; scholarships and financial aid available
UT Arlington is a public research university in the Dallas-Fort Worth metroplex with a practice-focused MPH. Students choose between Urban Health and Epidemiology concentrations, and the urban health track is the only one of its kind in Texas. Instruction pairs classroom work with community-based projects, and the faculty are active public health leaders, a fit for students aiming at urban health departments, nonprofits, and health care organizations.
View program
Only urban health concentration in Texas
Concentration options in Urban Health and Epidemiology
Community-based projects integrated throughout the curriculum
Designed for working professionals who keep a full-time role
Epidemiology track covers social, chronic and infectious disease
Urban health track emphasizes assessment, social justice and advocacy
Taught by instructors who are practicing public health leaders
Texas State University in San Marcos offers an accelerated online MPH in Community Health and Behavior. The 42-credit curriculum is delivered in short parts of term, so students can stack courses around a job, and it covers epidemiology, social determinants of health, applied statistics, and health policy. A 6-credit internship in a community setting and preparation for the CHES exam round out the degree.
View program
Concentration in Community Health and Behavior
42 total credit hours in an accelerated online format
Coursework delivered in short 5-week and 8-week parts of term
6-credit-hour internship completed in a community setting
Multiple start dates across summer, fall and spring
Prepares graduates for the CHES exam
2.8 GPA minimum and three letters of recommendation
Texas Woman's University in Denton runs a hybrid MPH with a rural health focus, mixing online coursework with in-person classes. Students complete 42 credit hours, including a concentration in Health Promotion and Behavior in Rural Communities and a 350-hour practicum with a public health agency. Small classes and accessible faculty give students close contact with instructors, and graduates move into epidemiology, health education, and public health administration.
View program
Concentration in Health Promotion and Behavior in Rural Communities
42 credit hours, completable in about two years
350-hour practicum placement with a public health agency
Hybrid delivery mixing online and in-person courses
Competency training across eight public health domains
Parker University is a private institution in Dallas offering a fully online MPH with three concentration choices, including the only Veterans Health track in Texas. Applied practice experiences and a guided internship anchor the curriculum, and coursework is aligned to national public health standards. Graduates pursue roles in epidemiology, health education, program evaluation, and disaster relief coordination.
View program
Concentrations in Epidemiology, Health Promotion and Veterans Health
Veterans Health track is unique in Texas
Fully online coursework with applied practice experiences
Guided internship opportunities included
Curriculum aligned with national public health standards
Prepares students for epidemiology and health education roles
Sam Houston State University in Huntsville delivers a 44-credit MPH fully online, with thesis and non-thesis options. Concentrations in Global Health and Social Justice and in Health Education and Promotion keep the focus on rural and underserved populations, and internships and practicum work are built into the degree. Course offerings range from immigrant and refugee health to public health grant writing.
View program
Concentrations in Global Health and Social Justice and Health Education and Promotion
44 total credit hours, fully online
Thesis and non-thesis options available
Internships and practicum work included
Focus on rural and underserved populations
Courses include Immigrant and Refugee Health and Public Health Grant Writing
Three start dates per year: fall, spring and summer
Angelo State University in San Angelo offers a 100% online MPH with no entrance exam requirement and two concentration paths. A capstone research project completed one-on-one with a faculty member gives students direct research experience, and graduates are eligible to sit for both the CHES and CPH exams. Small class sizes and fall or spring starts accommodate students balancing work and family.
View program
Concentrations in Behavioral Sciences and Health Education and in Epidemiology and Biostatistics
No entrance exam required for admission
100% online with fall and spring start dates
Capstone research project completed one-on-one with a faculty member
East Texas A&M University in Commerce offers a fully online 42-credit MPH in Community Health, with optional face-to-face classes in Dallas. The curriculum covers program planning, U.S. health care services, and global health issues, and students finish with an applied practice experience and a professional portfolio. The program is designed for working professionals across North Texas and includes individualized mentoring.
View program
Concentration in Community Health
42 credit hours, completable in two years
Offered online with optional face-to-face classes in Dallas
Rankings are only as useful as the methodology behind them, so we built a composite score that prioritizes online delivery while still anchoring every school to proven quality signals: institution-wide graduation rates, post-graduation earnings, tuition and net price, and the volume of public health completions. The goal is to reward programs that are both accessible to working adults and demonstrably effective at launching careers.
What We Measure
Online delivery commitment: Programs that are fully asynchronous or designed for remote learners receive a boost, reflecting the real flexibility working professionals need.
Graduation rate: An institution-wide metric that indicates whether students tend to finish what they start. A strong rate suggests robust student support, even if it doesn't isolate the MPH cohort.
Earnings after graduation: We use median earnings data collected one year out to gauge early-career returns. Stronger earnings help separate programs that translate knowledge into marketable skills.
Cost and net price: Tuition figures, including resident and nonresident rates where applicable, and the average net price after aid. Affordability matters, but we weigh it alongside outcomes so a low price alone doesn't dominate.
Completion volume: The number of public health master's degrees awarded each year adds a size-and-credibility signal. Larger cohorts often correlate with deeper curricular investment and stronger alumni networks.
Where the Data Comes From
The composite draws on two federal datasets and our own editorial checks. Institutional graduation rates and median earnings come from the College Scorecard. Tuition figures and degree completions are sourced from IPEDS. To verify that a program remains fully online, our editors review each school's website and admissions materials directly. No ranking built solely from scraped data can stay accurate without that human review.
What the Data Doesn't Tell You
Owning our blind spots is part of transparency. The graduation rate is university-wide, so it reflects all bachelor's-seeking students, not just MPH candidates. Net price is an average across the entire graduate student body, which may include law, business, or medical students with very different cost profiles. Earnings data is drawn from all graduates of the public health CIP code at each institution, meaning it blends concentrations and career paths that range from epidemiology to health policy. These are useful benchmarks, not precise predictions for a single student.
Why We Show Our Work
Most online MPH rankings offer little more than a numbered sequence with no explanation. We publish our methodology because the stakes are too high for guesswork. An MPH is a significant investment, and readers deserve to know whether a ranking prioritizes affordability, flexibility, or earnings so they can judge whether the list aligns with their own priorities. By laying out the inputs and their limitations, we give prospective students a clearer framework for making a decision that fits their career and budget.
Online MPH Tuition in Texas: Resident Vs. Nonresident Costs
Tuition varies widely across Texas online MPH programs, and the difference between in-state and out-of-state rates can be substantial at public universities. Several private and for-profit institutions charge a flat tuition rate regardless of residency, which may benefit out-of-state learners. The net price figures listed below are institution-wide estimates drawn from federal data (IPEDS, 2023) and reflect what the average student pays after financial aid. They are not specific to MPH programs, so treat them as rough benchmarks rather than precise program-level costs.
School
In-State Tuition
Out-of-State Tuition
Flat Rate?
Approx. Net Price (Institution-Wide)
Sul Ross State University
$6,661
$14,220
No
$13,286
East Texas A&M University
$7,338
$14,718
No
$11,841
Angelo State University
$7,509
$14,889
No
$15,091
The University of Texas at Tyler
$8,480
$17,264
No
$13,323
Texas Woman's University
$8,520
$15,900
No
$11,963
Lamar University
$8,642
$16,022
No
$9,366
Sam Houston State University
$8,954
$16,334
No
$16,404
Texas State University
$8,997
$16,377
No
$16,805
UT Permian Basin (MBA + Public Health Certificate)
$9,276
$19,116
No
$12,723
UT Arlington
$11,249
$26,073
No
$13,951
Parker University
$14,898
$14,898
Yes
$29,135
UT Dallas
$15,168
$29,548
No
$18,267
West Coast University, Dallas
$16,441
$16,441
Yes
$25,992
University of Mary Hardin-Baylor
$20,980
$20,980
Yes
$26,106
University of the Incarnate Word
$22,650
$22,650
Yes
$22,775
Questions to Ask Yourself
Can I handle synchronous class sessions, or do I need a fully asynchronous format?
Real-time classes require fixed availability each week, while asynchronous coursework lets you study on your own schedule. Align the format with your work shifts, family obligations, and peak learning times.
Does this program require any campus visits, and can I complete the Applied Practice Experience with a Texas employer near me?
Even a single on-campus orientation can add travel costs. Verify whether the program helps you secure an APE at a Texas health department or hospital near your home.
Will this program's CEPH accreditation qualify me for CPH certification and meet my target employer's requirements?
CEPH accreditation is a prerequisite for the CPH exam and is often required by public health employers. Completing an accredited program keeps your certification and hiring options open.
Async Vs. Synchronous: How Texas Online MPH Programs Actually Deliver Coursework
Delivery model matters more than any brochure line about "flexibility." A program that requires Tuesday night live sessions at 7 p.m. Central will collide with a hospital charge nurse's schedule; a fully asynchronous program with a locally arranged practicum will not. Below is what the current program materials say, and where you should call admissions before committing.
Fully Asynchronous vs. Mixed Delivery
UTHealth Houston (MPH in Epidemiology): The online Epidemiology track is 100% asynchronous, with optional synchronous or in-person courses available if you want them. No campus visits are required. Other UTHealth Houston MPH concentrations are a mix of synchronous and asynchronous coursework, so confirm your specific concentration with the school.1
UNT Health Science Center (Fort Worth): Marketed as an online MPH with optional on-campus sessions and two start dates per year. Part-time study is available. Public materials describe it as flexible but do not explicitly confirm whether every course is asynchronous, so ask directly which sessions, if any, meet live.
UT Health San Antonio: Not a fully online program. Coursework runs primarily in the evenings (roughly 5:30 to 8:30 p.m.), with full-time students attending three evenings per week on campus. Some hybrid options exist, but plan for regular in-person attendance in San Antonio.3
Texas A&M, UTHealth Tyler, UT Arlington, University of Houston, Baylor: Delivery specifics were not clearly documented in current public program pages at the level of detail working students need. Request the course schedule format and any residency requirements in writing before you apply.
Applied Practice Experience (Practicum) Placement
Every CEPH-accredited MPH requires an Applied Practice Experience, typically 120 to 200 hours of supervised work with a public health organization. At UTHealth Houston, the practicum is a planned, supervised experience usually arranged near the student and often completed in person; fully virtual placements are not explicitly marketed, though Texas residents can generally place with a local county health department, hospital system, or community health center.4 Programs that recruit statewide almost always allow you to build a placement in your own city, but you will need a preceptor who meets the school's criteria.
Completion Timelines
Most Texas MPH programs are 42 to 45 credit hours. UTHealth Houston's MPH is 45 credits and full-time students typically finish in 18 to 24 months.4 Part-time enrollment (one or two courses per term) extends completion to three or four years, which is the realistic pace for anyone working full time in a clinical or agency role, much like students in online mpa texas programs. Accelerated 12 to 15 month tracks exist at some out-of-state programs but are uncommon among ranked Texas options; if a compressed timeline is your priority, confirm the credit load per term before enrolling.
CEPH Accreditation and Why It Matters for Texas MPH Graduates
Programmatic accreditation has become the single most important credential check for anyone investing in a Master of Public Health, and in Texas, the distinction between accredited and non-accredited programs carries real career consequences.
What CEPH Accreditation Actually Means
The Council on Education for Public Health (CEPH) is the recognized accrediting body for schools and programs of public health in the United States. CEPH accreditation operates at the unit level, meaning it covers an entire school or program of public health rather than individual degree tracks. When a Texas university's school of public health holds CEPH accreditation, every MPH concentration offered under that unit, whether delivered on campus or online, falls under the same accredited umbrella. A full accreditation term typically runs seven years before the next review cycle.
As of 2026, Texas is home to roughly 44 CEPH-accredited public health programs, with about 10 of those offering fully online MPH options.1
Texas Programs and Their Current Accreditation Status
The following Texas institutions hold CEPH accreditation covering their online MPH offerings:
UTHealth Houston School of Public Health: Accredited since 1969, with a current term extending through July 2027.2
Texas A&M University School of Public Health: Accredited since 2001. The exact term end date should be verified through the CEPH directory, as it was not publicly listed at the time of this review.1
Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center: Accredited with a seven-year term running through July 2031.3
University of North Texas Health Science Center: Accredited with a seven-year term through 2031.4
Baylor University: Accredited since 2013, with a term ending in 2026, meaning the program is currently in or approaching its reaccreditation review cycle. Prospective students should confirm the outcome of that review before enrolling.5
University of Texas Medical Branch (UTMB): Accredited through December 2028 under its School of Public and Population Health.6
University of Texas at El Paso: Held accreditation through December 2025, so its current status requires direct confirmation with CEPH.1
One program to watch is the University of Texas at Tyler's MPH in Rural Population Health, which is on CEPH's applicant list as of mid-2024. Its application has been accepted, but a site visit had not yet been scheduled at last check. That means the program does not yet hold accreditation, a distinction that matters for the reasons outlined below.7
What Happens If You Choose a Non-Accredited Program
Skipping CEPH accreditation carries three practical consequences that Texas students and working professionals should weigh carefully:
CPH certification eligibility: The Certified in Public Health (CPH) credential, administered by the National Board of Public Health Examiners, requires graduation from a CEPH-accredited school or program. Graduates of non-accredited programs simply cannot sit for the exam.
Employer screening: Major Texas public health employers, including the Department of State Health Services (DSHS), regional county health departments, and hospital systems, routinely list CEPH accreditation as a preferred or required qualification in job postings. A non-accredited degree can effectively screen you out before a hiring manager reviews your resume.
Transfer credit portability: Credits earned at non-accredited programs are harder to transfer if you later pursue a DrPH, PhD, or a second master's degree. Many accredited schools will not accept coursework from programs that lack CEPH recognition.
How to Verify Status Before You Apply
Accreditation terms expire and programs enter review cycles, so never rely on a university's marketing materials alone. Check the CEPH accredited schools and programs directory directly. Look for the institution's accreditation type (school versus program), the initial accreditation date, the term end date, and any notes about probation or preliminary status. If a program is listed as an "applicant," it has not yet earned accreditation. If the term end date has passed, contact both CEPH and the institution to confirm whether reaccreditation was granted.
GRE Requirements and Admissions Policies by Program
Do online MPH programs in Texas require the GRE? For most applicants, the answer is a firm no. Of the nine programs available to Texas residents, only UTHealth Houston School of Public Health still expects a standardized exam as part of the default admissions package, and even that program accepts the GMAT or MCAT as substitutes while offering targeted waivers. Every other online MPH program in Texas has either dropped the GRE requirement entirely or built it as an optional supplement. This policy landscape reflects a broader national shift toward holistic review, but it also means applicants can plan with confidence: if you are building a list of Texas online MPH programs, you will likely never sit for the GRE.
Programs That Do Not Require the GRE
The following Texas online MPH programs have removed the GRE (or never required it) for all MPH applicants, with no additional conditions attached:
Texas A&M University (All MPH Concentrations): GRE, GMAT, and MCAT scores are no longer required for MPH admission.
Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center: The online MPH explicitly carries a “No GRE required” designation.
UNT Health Science Center (UNTHSC): The department FAQ confirms that the GRE is not required for any Public Health programs, including the online MPH.
University of Texas at Tyler: The admissions page states plainly, “The GRE is not required.”
Angelo State University: The program overview notes no GRE requirement for admission.
Lamar University: Applicants are not required to submit GRE scores.
Sam Houston State University: The online MPH has no GRE mandate.
UT Rio Grande Valley: The online MPH description confirms no GRE requirement.
All eight programs above admit students without requesting standardized test results. They do not post alternate waiver criteria because none is needed.
The One Holdout: UTHealth Houston
UTHealth Houston School of Public Health continues to ask for GRE scores by default, but the institution provides practical alternatives and exemption pathways:2
Standardized test options: Applicants may submit the GRE, GMAT, or MCAT. This means a candidate who already has a competitive MCAT score from a prior medical school application can use it, and business-tracked applicants can lean on the GMAT.
Waiver criteria: The GRE requirement is waived for dual-degree students who hold an admission offer from a partner school with a doctoral component (MD, PhD, PharmD, JD), for previous UTHealth Houston SPH students who completed the General Public Health Certificate with a cumulative GPA of 3.4 or higher, and for foreign medical graduates with ECFMG certification.
No minimum score published: UTHealth Houston does not advertise a cutoff for the GRE, GMAT, or MCAT, but competitive applicants should present scores that reflect their ability to handle rigorous quantitative and analytic coursework.
If none of the waiver categories applies and you lack a recent standardized score, the UTHealth Houston requirement may be the deciding factor that points you toward one of the eight no-GRE programs. Readers interested in no-GRE MPH options nationwide can explore our filterable list.
Concentrations That Match Texas Public Health Employer Demand
Choosing an MPH concentration becomes a career decision the moment you map it to actual hiring patterns. Texas public health employers don't hire "public health graduates" in the abstract; they hire epidemiologists, behavioral health program managers, data analysts, and policy specialists. The concentrations that open doors are the ones that align with documented state and local workforce needs.
Start with DSHS Workforce Reports and Strategic Plans
The Texas Department of State Health Services (DSHS) publishes regular workforce projections and strategic plans that reveal where demand is highest. The DSHS Strategic Plan for 2027, 2031, for example, explicitly identifies public health prevention specialist roles as a priority area and signals ongoing need in behavioral health, infectious disease, and emergency preparedness.2 You can also pull fiscal-year FTE counts to see which divisions maintain staffing even during budget tightening. Behavioral health is especially telling: the 2022, 2036 workforce projections show unmet demand for behavioral health professionals growing from 11,449 FTEs in 2022 to 33,558 FTEs by 2036, with a 27.6% gap.1 Social worker shortfalls are even larger, reaching 35.9% unmet demand by 2036.1 These numbers signal durable employer appetite for MPH graduates trained in mental health program management and community-based interventions.
Review University Program Pages and Alumni Outcomes
Major Texas MPH programs, including those at UTHealth Houston, UT Southwestern, and UT Austin, report alumni employment data and employer feedback. Scan their concentration pages for notes about where graduates land: state and county health departments, hospital systems, or community health centers. Programs that highlight partnerships with the Texas DSHS Office of Practice and Learning or the Texas Health Institute often signal concentrations that mirror state priorities. When a program lists its alumni working in maternal and child health or health equity initiatives at Harris County Public Health or Dallas County Health and Human Services, that concentration is clearly linked to employer demand.
Analyze State and County Job Postings
The Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) Occupational Outlook Handbook covers health educators and community health workers, but real-time intelligence comes from job boards. Check the career portals for Harris, Dallas, Bexar, and Travis county health departments. Look for repeated phrasing: if multiple postings ask for skills in surveillance data management, program evaluation, or infectious disease investigation, those are immediate indicators of preferred concentrations. This step requires no special access, just an hour scanning live listings. Many Texas regions are meeting only 25, 50% of employer healthcare needs as of 2026,3 so a well-chosen concentration can position you exactly where the gaps are largest.
Tap into Professional Associations' Resources
The Texas Public Health Association (TPHA) and the American Public Health Association (APHA) both run job boards, publish workforce trend briefs, and host networking events. TPHA’s state-specific lens is especially valuable for identifying emerging specializations, like informatics, data analytics, or health equity, that appear repeatedly in regional postings. Joining or simply browsing these platforms gives you early notice of which MPH concentrations employers are naming in practice, not just in planning documents.
Career Outcomes and Salary Potential for Texas MPH Graduates
Texas MPH graduates enter a public health labor market that rewards specialized training with competitive salaries across multiple career pathways. Understanding both occupation-level wage data and program-specific outcomes helps prospective students evaluate the financial return on their degree investment.
What Epidemiologists Earn in Texas
Epidemiologists represent one of the most direct career paths for MPH graduates, and Texas compensation reflects strong demand for disease surveillance and outbreak investigation expertise. According to Bureau of Labor Statistics data for May 2024, epidemiologists in Texas earned a median annual wage of $76,420.1 Based on earlier 2023 occupational estimates, the mean annual wage was approximately $81,000,2 indicating that experienced professionals and those in leadership positions can earn substantially above the median.
Texas employed roughly 640 epidemiologists as of May 2023,2 with positions concentrated in the state's major metropolitan areas. Houston, Dallas-Fort Worth, Austin, and San Antonio account for the largest share of public health employment, driven by the presence of major hospital systems, county health departments, and the Texas Department of State Health Services regional offices.
Program-Level Earnings Data
While occupation-level statistics provide useful benchmarks, program-level earnings data offers a more direct view of what graduates from specific Texas MPH programs actually earn. Unfortunately, federally reported earnings figures for most online MPH programs in Texas are not yet available through the College Scorecard system. This reflects the relatively recent expansion of online public health education and reporting lags rather than any deficiency in graduate outcomes.
Among the ranked programs, Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center and The University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston both show strong institutional-level graduate earnings, suggesting their MPH graduates benefit from established alumni networks and employer relationships throughout Texas.
Do Texas Employers Respect Online MPH Degrees?
CEPH-accredited online MPH degrees carry the same professional weight as campus-based programs among Texas public health employers. The Texas Department of State Health Services, county health districts, and major hospital systems evaluate candidates based on accreditation status and competency rather than delivery format. Federal agencies including the CDC and HRSA apply identical standards when reviewing applications from online program graduates.
This equivalence matters particularly for working professionals who complete their degrees while employed in public health roles. Employers increasingly view the discipline and time management required to complete a rigorous online program as evidence of professional capability.
Metro-Level Salary Premiums
Houston and Dallas-Fort Worth generally offer the highest compensation for public health professionals, reflecting both cost of living and the concentration of large health systems. Austin's expanding public health infrastructure and San Antonio's strong community health sector also provide solid employment markets. Graduates willing to work in rural Texas counties may find slightly lower salaries offset by lower living costs and often faster advancement into leadership positions due to smaller organizational structures.
CPH and CHES Certification Paths for Texas Online MPH Graduates
Post-graduate credentialing has become a de facto second layer of qualification in Texas public health hiring, with more county and state postings now listing CPH or CHES as preferred or required alongside the MPH itself. Understanding which certification fits your career track, and when you can sit for the exam, matters as much as picking the right concentration.
CPH Eligibility for Texas MPH Students
The Certified in Public Health (CPH) credential, administered by the National Board of Public Health Examiners, has an academic pathway built specifically for graduates of CEPH-accredited or CEPH-applicant programs.1 If you are enrolled in a CEPH-accredited online MPH offered by a Texas school, you can sit for the CPH exam before graduation with your program's approval. Passing before you finish grants provisional certification, which converts to full CPH once your degree is conferred.2
If you did not attend a CEPH-accredited program, you can still qualify through work experience: five years of public health practice with a bachelor's, three years with a related graduate degree or CEPH-recognized certificate, or the faculty pathway (graduate degree plus three years teaching or working in public health).1 A time-limited international pilot for alumni of non-US, non-CEPH graduate programs runs through December 2026 and waives the standard experience requirement.3
CHES Eligibility and Coursework Requirements
The Certified Health Education Specialist (CHES) credential, issued by NCHEC, is not tied to CEPH accreditation. Eligibility rests on coursework: a bachelor's or higher from an accredited institution plus at least 25 semester credits in health education covering the Eight Areas of Responsibility, with a minimum of 12 credits in process courses, up to 9 in topic-focused courses, and up to 6 in other qualifying courses.4
Texas online MPH tracks in Health Promotion, Community Health, or Health Behavior generally hit the 25-credit threshold cleanly. Epidemiology, Biostatistics, and Health Policy concentrations often fall short and require deliberate elective selection, or a bachelor's transcript that fills the gap. Verify your specific transcript against NCHEC's coursework evaluation before applying.4
Which Credential Texas Employers Actually Want
Health education specialist and community health worker positions at the Texas Department of State Health Services and larger county health districts (Harris, Dallas, Bexar, Travis) frequently list CHES as preferred or required. Epidemiologist, program manager, and policy analyst roles more often reference CPH or leave certification open, while those aiming for public policy careers may consider online MPP programs in Texas. If you plan to work in health promotion or community outreach in Texas, choose a concentration that satisfies CHES coursework from day one rather than backfilling later.
Frequently Asked Questions About Online MPH Programs in Texas
Below are answers to the questions Texas residents ask most often when evaluating online Master of Public Health programs. Each response draws on the tuition, accreditation, and admissions data discussed earlier in this article.
What is the cheapest fully online MPH program in Texas?
Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center offers the most affordable CEPH-accredited online MPH at approximately $10,250 total for 45 credits at the resident rate. Texas A&M University-Commerce (roughly $14,367 to $15,123 for 42 credits)2 and Lamar University (approximately $15,123 for 42 credits)3 are the next most budget-friendly options. See the tuition comparison table above for a full cost breakdown.
Which Texas online MPH programs are CEPH accredited?
As of late 2025, CEPH lists 44 accredited public health programs in Texas, with roughly 10 offering fully online MPH tracks.4 Confirmed CEPH-accredited online options include Texas Tech Health Sciences Center, Texas A&M University, the University of North Texas Health Science Center, and Texas State University, among others. Always verify accreditation directly with CEPH before enrolling, as individual concentrations or delivery formats may carry separate approval timelines.
Do online MPH programs in Texas require the GRE?
Most Texas online MPH programs have moved to GRE-optional or GRE-waived admissions. Lamar University requires no entrance exam with a minimum 2.5 overall GPA (or 2.75 in the last 60 hours),3 and Texas State University waives the GRE for applicants with at least a 2.75 GPA. Policies vary by program, so check the admissions section above for school-by-school details.
How long does it take to complete an online MPH in Texas?
Full-time students typically finish in 18 to 24 months. Texas State University offers one of the fastest timelines at approximately 18 months, while Texas Tech Health Sciences Center ranges from 15 to 24 months depending on pace. Part-time students should expect up to three years.
Is an online MPH respected by Texas public health employers?
Yes. When a program holds CEPH accreditation, Texas employers, including the Department of State Health Services, county health districts, and major hospital systems, treat the degree the same as an on-campus credential. Texas public universities specifically design their online MPH tracks for working professionals, and graduates are eligible for the same CPH and CHES certifications as on-campus peers.
What concentrations are available in Texas online MPH programs?
Offerings range from generalist tracks to specialized fields aligned with Texas workforce needs. Texas Tech delivers a Generalist MPH, Texas State focuses on Community Health and Behavior, Texas A&M offers an Epidemiology concentration online,6 and the University of North Texas Health Science Center provides Public Health Leadership.7 Lamar University and Texas A&M-Commerce use broad curricula with elective flexibility. The concentrations section earlier in this article maps each option to relevant Texas employer demand.
Can I complete the Applied Practice Experience remotely with a Texas employer?
In most cases, yes. Programs designed for online learners, such as Texas Tech and Texas State, allow students to arrange their applied practice experience at an approved site in their own community. This means you can partner with a local county health department, a community health center, or a Texas hospital system without relocating. CEPH permits remote practicum placements, though each program sets its own approval process, so review the practicum handbook early in your enrollment.
More Online MPH Programs Available to Texas Residents
The ranked programs above are not the only options open to Texas residents. The directory below covers additional schools offering public health master's degrees in online or hybrid formats, grouped by region, with each entry noting program focus, delivery format, and reported tuition where figures exist. This is a non-ranked reference list for readers who want to keep exploring.
Greater Houston
The University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston
The School of Public and Population Health is CEPH accredited and offers four concentrations: Bioethics, Biostatistics, Epidemiology, and Public Health Practice. Students complete core coursework plus an Applied Practice Experience and an Integrative Learning Experience, and an online path is available for the Biostatistics concentration. Residency-based tuition and fee figures are not reported for this program.
Lamar's MPH focuses on health disparities, pairing 27 credit hours of core coursework in epidemiology, biostatistics, and health policy with nine elective hours and a six-credit capstone. No entrance exam is required, and applicants need a 2.5 GPA minimum. Reported tuition and fees run about $8,905 in state and $18,745 out of state.
Run by UIW's School of Osteopathic Medicine, this CEPH-accredited online MPH covers health policy and management, epidemiology, biostatistics, social and behavioral health, and environmental health. Students share faculty and facilities with the Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine program at the Brooks community in San Antonio. Reported tuition and fees are about $37,090 regardless of residency.
UMHB's online MPH concentrates in health promotion and prepares students for the Certified Health Education Specialist exam. Students receive individualized faculty mentorship and finish with an internship at an extramural agency. Reported tuition and fees are about $32,020 for in-state and out-of-state students alike.
West Coast University's 42-credit online MPH covers health promotion, environmental health, epidemiology, biostatistics, cultural competence, health policy, and leadership, finishing with a community capstone. Coursework is asynchronous in 8-week terms, with 16-month accelerated or 28-month working-professional paces and one-on-one faculty mentoring. Residency-based tuition figures are not reported for this program.
Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center-El Paso
This 45-credit MPH is delivered fully online, with most students finishing in two years and an accelerated 15-month track available. The curriculum emphasizes evidence-based practice, applied research, community partnership, and program evaluation, preparing graduates for work as epidemiologists, biostatisticians, environmental health scientists, and health educators. Tuition figures for this program are not reported.
A joint program from UT Permian Basin and UTHealth Houston, this hybrid option pairs an MBA with a public health certificate across 46 credit hours. Business courses can be taken on campus or online, while the public health certificate coursework is delivered fully online. Reported tuition and fees run about $9,236 in state and $21,504 out of state.
Sul Ross offers its graduate public health program through the Department of Public Health, with an emphasis on evidence-based practice, community collaboration, health equity, and ethical leadership. Graduates pursue work in public health agencies, nonprofit organizations, and healthcare settings. Reported tuition and fees run about $7,592 in state and $17,672 out of state.