Best Online MPH Programs in Minnesota | 2027 Guide

Compare CEPH-accredited programs by cost, format, and career outcomes for Minnesota residents and beyond

By Max SheltonReviewed by PAP Editoral TeamUpdated August 29, 202625+ min read

What you’ll learn in this article…

  • Minnesota's CEPH-accredited online MPH programs all waive the GRE in 2026.
  • Online tuition ranges from under $230 to over $1,200 per credit.
  • Completion timelines span roughly 12 months to four years part time.

Minnesota runs one of the more layered public health systems in the Upper Midwest: a state health department in St. Paul, eight metro and dozens of rural county health departments, and hospital systems like Hennepin Healthcare and Allina all competing for the same pool of credentialed staff. An MPH remains the standard credential for moving from program coordinator into epidemiology, health policy, or administrative leadership roles across that system, and online delivery has become the default path for working adults who cannot leave a paycheck to attend class in Minneapolis or Duluth.

Seven CEPH-eligible programs currently serve Minnesota residents online, spanning a flagship research university, private nonprofit institutions, and nationally available providers. Tuition, pacing, and practicum access diverge sharply among them, and the tradeoffs go well beyond sticker price.

Ranked: Best Online MPH Programs in Minnesota

Minnesota's online MPH landscape runs from large public universities to private, career-focused institutions, and every school here offers a Master of Public Health that Minnesota residents can complete largely or entirely online. The order below reflects how these seven programs stack up for working professionals in the state, based on cost, flexibility, retention, and how closely each program ties into Minnesota public health employers. Each entry notes the delivery format, tuition picture, and the track or concentration the program leads to.

Factors considered
  • First-year retention rates
  • Median graduate debt loads
  • Online delivery and flexibility
  • Affordability and net price
  • Graduation rates, weighted lightly
Data sources
  • NCES-IPEDS federal institutional data covering graduation rates, retention rates and student-faculty ratios — nces.ed.gov
  • BEA Regional Price Parities (state cost of living) — bea.gov
  • College Scorecard graduate earnings — collegescorecard.ed.gov
  • Program-level records maintained in house
  • Independent program research
  1. #1

    Rasmussen University-Minnesota

    St. Cloud, MN · ~$7,000/yr (est.)

    Best for: Career changers needing flexible entry points

    A private, career-focused university headquartered in Minnesota, Rasmussen delivers its Master of Public Health fully online with St. Cloud campus support for advising, tutoring, and technical help. The program is built for working adults and career changers, with four start dates a year, 11-week terms, and a required practicum that can be completed with a local or regional agency. The GRE is not required, and applicants whose undergraduate GPA falls just below the standard threshold can request a committee review through a personal statement. Its graduation rate sits near the middle of this group, while its typical net price is lower than most of the private schools listed.

    View program
    No entrance examMilitary benefitsEmployer tuition reimbursement
    • No entrance exam required
    • $16,324 total program tuition, $229 per credit
    • 56 credit hours across 14 courses
    • Full-time students can finish in about 21 months
    • Four start dates per year in 11-week terms
    • 2.5 GPA minimum, with a GPA exception pathway
    • Required practicum in real-world public health settings
    • 24/7 tech support and online library resources
  2. #2

    Minnesota State University-Mankato

    Mankato, MN · $10,000 – $20,000/yr (est.)

    Best for: Health educators-in-training wanting asynchronous classes

    A public institution in Mankato and the most affordable option here for Minnesota residents, with in-state graduate tuition well below what out-of-state students pay. Its MPH in Health Behavior and Health Promotion is fully asynchronous and explicitly prepares students for Certified Health Education Specialist eligibility, a credential that matters in Minnesota county and community health agencies. The program accepts students without a health background and admits on a rolling basis for fall, spring, and summer starts. Graduate assistantships are available, which can further offset the cost for students who enroll full time.

    View program
    Rolling admissions
    • Fully asynchronous online coursework
    • 43 credit hours completed over two years
    • Prepares students for CHES certification eligibility
    • No health background required
    • Rolling admissions for fall, spring, and summer starts
    • 2.9 GPA minimum plus three letters of recommendation
    • Graduate assistantships available
    • Coursework includes research methods and grant writing
  3. #3

    Saint Mary's University of Minnesota

    Winona, MN · ~$12,000/yr (est.)

    Best for: Equity-focused professionals entering public health

    A private Catholic university in Winona, Saint Mary's runs a fully online MPH with a strong social justice and health equity orientation and a flat tuition rate for online students regardless of residency. The 42-credit curriculum, capstone, and field experience are structured for professionals who want to keep working while they study. Rolling admissions make it easy to start without waiting for a single annual deadline, and application fees are waived for alumni, veterans, and active military. The university's graduation rate is among the higher figures in this group, and its typical net price is notably lower than several private peers here.

    View program
    Rolling admissions
    • Fully online course delivery
    • 42 total credit hours
    • Focus on social justice and health equity
    • Capstone and field experience required
    • 2.8 GPA minimum
    • Prerequisite coursework in human biology and statistics
    • Rolling admissions, no application fee for alumni and military
    • Core topics include biostatistics, epidemiology, and environmental health
  4. #4

    University of St Thomas

    Saint Paul, MN · ~$21,000/yr (est.)

    A private university in Saint Paul, St. Thomas offers a fully online, cohort-based MPH that mixes asynchronous coursework with live synchronous sessions and keeps cohorts small at roughly 15 to 20 students. The curriculum centers on health equity and social justice, covering biostatistics, epidemiology, health policy, and program evaluation, with a community-focused capstone that frequently partners with Twin Cities organizations. Students typically finish in two years while carrying 6 to 9 credits per semester. It posts the highest graduation rate and the highest typical net price among the schools in this ranking, a combination worth weighing carefully.

    View program
    • Two-year program at 6 to 9 credits per semester
    • Cohort-based structure with 15 to 20 students
    • Synchronous and asynchronous course options
    • Community-focused capstone project
    • Electives in global health, injury prevention, and chronic disease
    • Covers biostatistics, epidemiology, health policy, and evaluation
    • Health equity and social justice focus
    • Prepares graduates for health education specialist and policy analyst roles
  5. #5

    St Catherine University

    Saint Paul, MN · $15,000 – $20,000/yr (est.)

    Women's college

    A private women's university in Saint Paul, St. Catherine is one of two schools in this ranking with confirmed CEPH accreditation for its MPH, and the program leans into both local and global health equity. Students complete a 200-hour summer practicum with Twin Cities agencies or international placements in Ghana, Tanzania, Romania, and the Philippines, and the degree is offered in HyFlex and hybrid formats for working adults. Prospective applicants should know that the program is not currently admitting new students, which makes it an important reference point rather than an open option for a 2026 start.

    View program
    CEPH accredited
    • CEPH accredited
    • 44 credit hours completed in 2 to 3 years
    • 200-hour summer practicum
    • HyFlex (fully online) and hybrid formats
    • Placements with Twin Cities agencies or abroad in Ghana, Tanzania, Romania, and the Philippines
    • $31,460 total program tuition, $715 per credit
    • Capstone required
    • Not currently admitting new students
  6. #6

    Capella University

    Minneapolis, MN · $15,000 – $20,000/yr (est.)

    A private, for-profit university based in Minneapolis, Capella offers a fully online, competency-based MPH designed for working professionals who want to move at their own pace with no campus visits. The curriculum blends epidemiology, health policy, and community health practice, and the school accepts transfer credits and prior learning toward the degree. Capella holds institutional accreditation from the Higher Learning Commission, so applicants should confirm the current accreditation status of the MPH itself before enrolling. Its tuition is among the lowest in this ranking, but its graduation rate is the weakest figure reported in the group.

    View program
    • Fully online with no campus requirements
    • Competency-based curriculum
    • Institutional accreditation from the Higher Learning Commission
    • Up to 30 transfer credits or prior learning accepted
    • Prepares graduates for government, nonprofit, and healthcare roles
  7. #7

    Walden University

    Minneapolis, MN · ~$11,000/yr (est.)

    A private, for-profit university headquartered in Minneapolis, Walden runs a CEPH-accredited online MPH aimed at a national and global student body rather than a Minnesota-specific cohort. The program covers epidemiology, biostatistics, environmental health, and the social and behavioral sciences, and includes a required practicum that students can complete in their own communities, including with Minnesota health agencies. Entry requires neither the GRE nor an application fee, up to 30 transfer credits are accepted, and students can finish in roughly 24 months across 64 quarter credits. Its published tuition is the lowest in this ranking, and its graduation rate is not reported in the same federal data available for most other schools here.

    View program
    CEPH accredited
    • CEPH accredited
    • No entrance exam required
    • $36,360 total program tuition, $545 per credit
    • 64 quarter credits, finish in as few as 24 months
    • $0 application fee
    • Transfer up to 30 credits
    • Required practicum experience
    • Believe & Achieve Scholarship available

Tuition Comparison: In-State, Out-of-State, and Flat-Rate Online Costs

Tuition for online MPH programs available to Minnesota residents ranges widely, from under $230 per credit at Rasmussen University to more than $1,200 per credit at the University of Minnesota Twin Cities. Several programs charge a single flat online rate regardless of where you live, while Minnesota State University Mankato maintains a traditional resident and non-resident split. Keep in mind that institution-wide average net price figures published by the U.S. Department of Education are approximations across all programs and student profiles; your actual MPH cost will depend on the credits you transfer, the pace at which you enroll, and any scholarships or assistantships you secure. Contact each school's financial aid office for a personalized estimate.

SchoolPricing StructurePer-Credit Rate (In-State)Per-Credit Rate (Out-of-State)Total Credits RequiredEstimated Total Program Cost
Rasmussen UniversityFlat online rate$229$22956$16,324
Saint Mary's University of MinnesotaFlat online rate$560$56042Approx. $20,160 to $22,890
St. Catherine UniversityFlat online rate (hybrid)$715$71544$31,460
Walden UniversityFlat online rate$545$54564$36,360
University of St. ThomasFlat online rateN/AN/AN/AN/A
Minnesota State University MankatoResident and non-resident differential$243 (approx.)$465 (approx.)43Approx. $10,449 to $19,989
University of Minnesota Twin Cities (School of Public Health)Varies by track; some tracks use flat online rate$1,156 to $1,231$1,231 to $1,619Varies by trackVaries by track
Capella UniversityFlat online rateN/AN/AN/AN/A

Questions to Ask Yourself

Do you need fully asynchronous coursework to balance a clinical or 9-to-5 schedule?
If you work rotating shifts or unpredictable hours, a self-paced program without fixed login times ensures you never miss a deadline because of your job. Conversely, if your schedule is predictable, synchronous sessions might offer richer interaction.
Can you consistently attend live online sessions on a fixed weeknight?
Synchronous classes build camaraderie and direct access to faculty, but missing even one weekly session can derail your progress in discussion-heavy courses. Consider your evening commitments and time zone differences.
Would a cohort model keep you accountable, or do you prefer the freedom of self-paced study?
Cohort programs provide a built-in support network and a shared timeline that reduces procrastination, but they offer less flexibility if life interrupts your studies. Self-paced options let you accelerate or slow down as needed, but demand strong self-discipline.
Are you willing to travel to campus for a short residency or onsite intensive?
Some programs require brief immersions that deepen practical skills and networking, but these can be challenging if you have limited vacation time or family obligations. Confirm the length, location, and frequency before committing.

Online Learning Formats: Asynchronous, Synchronous, and Residency Requirements

Choosing an online MPH often comes down to a single tradeoff: maximum flexibility versus structured engagement. Minnesota-based programs offer a spectrum of delivery modes, from fully asynchronous degrees that never require a campus visit to hybrid tracks built around on-campus intensives.

Fully Asynchronous Programs: Learn on Your Schedule, From Anywhere

Three Minnesota-based MPH programs run entirely asynchronously, letting you complete coursework whenever it fits your calendar.

  • University of Minnesota Distance MPH in Public Health Administration & Policy (PHAP): Delivered through Blackboard, this fully online, asynchronous track uses a cohort-based model with structured semesters over two years. There is no required on-campus component; you can complete the practicum in your own community.1
  • Saint Mary's University of Minnesota Online MPH: This program is 100% asynchronous with no scheduled class times. Lectures are pre-recorded, and discussion participation is flexible. Courses run in 8-week terms, and there are no campus residency requirements.2
  • Minnesota State University, Mankato Online MPH: The 43-credit Health Behavior and Health Promotion concentration is entirely asynchronous. No on-campus visits are required, making it a strong fit for working professionals anywhere in the country.3

For out-of-state students or Minnesota residents who cannot travel, these three programs remove mandatory on-campus sessions completely. If speed is a priority alongside flexibility, check our guide to the fastest online MPH programs.

Hybrid and Executive Formats: Blending Online Convenience With On-Campus Connection

Two University of Minnesota formats add face-to-face elements that benefit students seeking in-person networking.

  • UMN Executive MPH in PHAP: A cohort-based, 30-month hybrid program. Most coursework occurs asynchronously online, but you are required to attend 17 days of on-campus intensives over the degree. This structure fosters deep peer connections and mentorship while maintaining substantial online flexibility.4
  • UMN Public Health Practice MPH: This program is primarily asynchronous but incorporates interactive components that may require occasional real-time participation. While specific residency requirements are not published, the model follows the school's general approach of allowing local practicum placements without mandated campus visits.

Cohort-Based Structures vs. Rolling Start Dates

Program pacing and start-point flexibility differ across schools.

  • Cohort-based programs: UMN's Distance PHAP1, Executive PHAP4, and Public Health Practice MPH enroll students in annual or semi-annual cohorts. You progress through a fixed sequence with the same group, which builds a consistent professional network.
  • Rolling or frequent start dates: Saint Mary's 8-week terms2 allow multiple entry points per year, while MSU Mankato's term-based model3 offers similar flexibility. These structures let you begin coursework sooner without waiting for a fixed cohort launch.

Cohort programs provide built-in peer accountability, while rolling enrollment maximizes your ability to start immediately.

Learning Management Systems and Daily Pacing

Within these formats, the daily experience varies. UMN uses Blackboard across all MPH tracks1. Saint Mary's and MSU Mankato did not specify their LMS platforms in available materials, but their fully asynchronous design means you log in, watch lectures, and complete assignments on your own schedule within weekly or bi-weekly deadlines. Cohort-based tracks maintain shared assignment calendars, while self-paced terms may offer more flexibility in the order you tackle reading and projects.

For Minnesota professionals who never want to set foot on campus, the fully asynchronous pathways eliminate travel costs and scheduling conflicts entirely. For those who value in-person collaboration, UMN's executive format delivers it in concentrated bursts.

CEPH Accreditation and What It Means for Your Career

Which Minnesota MPH programs hold CEPH accreditation, and why does it matter for your public health career? The answer affects everything from federal job eligibility to your ability to pursue advanced certifications.

Which Minnesota Online MPH Programs Hold CEPH Accreditation?

As of 2026, only two institutions in Minnesota with MPH programs are recognized by the Council on Education for Public Health (CEPH). The University of Minnesota School of Public Health carries full CEPH accreditation through December 31, 2029, covering all MPH majors including its online and hybrid tracks such as the Distance Public Health Administration & Policy MPH and the Executive MPH in Public Health Practice. The University of Minnesota Duluth Public Health Program is also CEPH-accredited, with its current term valid through July 1, 2027. No other Minnesota-based MPH program, including those at Walden University, Saint Mary's University of Minnesota, Capella University, or St. Catherine University, appears on CEPH's list of accredited schools or programs1, nor are any of those institutions listed as applicants for accreditation2.

Why CEPH Accreditation Matters for Your Career

CEPH accreditation signals that a program meets nationally recognized quality standards in public health education. For working professionals, this carries concrete benefits:

  • CPH Exam Eligibility: Graduates of CEPH-accredited programs are automatically eligible to sit for the Certified in Public Health (CPH) exam through the standard NBPHE pathway. Without this accreditation, you would need to pursue alternative, less direct routes.
  • Federal Employment: Agencies like the CDC, HHS, and Indian Health Service often require a degree from a CEPH-accredited program for public health positions. In many cases, these requirements are non-negotiable.
  • State and County Preferences: Minnesota's state health department and many county health districts strongly prefer or explicitly require CEPH-accredited degrees when hiring MPH-level epidemiologists, program managers, and policy analysts.
  • CHES Certification: While NCHEC does not mandate CEPH accreditation for CHES exam eligibility, the coursework alignment and academic rigor associated with accredited programs can simplify the credentialing process. Graduates from regionally accredited institutions like Saint Mary's or Walden might still qualify if their transcript includes sufficient health education content, but this must be verified on a case-by-case basis.

CEPH-Accredited School vs. Standalone Program

CEPH accredits two types of entities: schools of public health and public health programs. The University of Minnesota School of Public Health is a fully accredited school, a designation that indicates a comprehensive, interdisciplinary institution with faculty and resources spanning all core public health disciplines. The University of Minnesota Duluth operates as a CEPH-accredited public health program, which meets the same rigorous standards but is housed within a larger university structure rather than functioning as an independent school. Both designations are equivalent for purposes of CPH eligibility and employer recognition, and both reflect a commitment to continuous quality improvement.

Programs Without CEPH Accreditation: What You Should Know

Online MPH programs from Walden, Saint Mary's, Capella, and St. Catherine are regionally accredited, a baseline requirement for federal financial aid and many jobs, but lack CEPH recognition. While you may still find meaningful roles in nonprofit, local government, or healthcare settings with a non-CEPH degree, you could face barriers when competing for positions at major public health agencies or when seeking employment in other states that have adopted CEPH as a hiring standard. Some public-facing directories may incorrectly list these schools as accredited, so always verify directly through the CEPH website1. If you plan to pursue the CPH credential or work in federal public health, choosing a CEPH-accredited program is the surest path forward.

CPH and CHES Certification Pathways for Minnesota Graduates

Minnesota does not require state-level public health licensure, but the Certified in Public Health (CPH) and Certified Health Education Specialist (CHES) credentials are increasingly preferred by the Minnesota Department of Health and county health departments. Graduating from a CEPH-accredited MPH program positions you for either pathway, depending on your coursework and career focus.

Four-step credentialing timeline from CEPH-accredited MPH through CPH or CHES exam eligibility, passing, and renewal cycles

Concentrations That Match Minnesota Employer Demand

Generalist degree versus specialized concentration: that choice shapes how your resume lands with Minnesota's largest public health employers. A broad MPH opens many doors, but a focused track can make you the immediate answer to a specific hiring need at the Minnesota Department of Health, a county health department, or a major healthcare system.

Generalist MPH: A Broad Foundation

Several online Minnesota programs deliver a comprehensive Master of Public Health without a declared concentration. Saint Mary's University of Minnesota, for instance, weaves biostatistics, epidemiology, environmental health, and social justice across a 42-credit curriculum. Walden University's CEPH-accredited MPH follows a similar generalist model, and Capella University's competency-based program covers the full public health core. These degrees position graduates for entry- and mid-level roles in program coordination, health education, and policy analysis across varied settings. The flexibility is real: a generalist can pivot from an infectious disease surveillance team to a community health improvement project without needing another degree.

Specialized Tracks: Direct Alignment with Employer Needs

Minnesota's employer landscape rewards targeted expertise. The state's Department of Health (MDH) maintains robust epidemiology and surveillance teams that track infectious disease, maternal and child health, and chronic conditions. County health departments, from Hennepin to St. Louis, urgently need community health specialists who can design outreach programs for diverse populations. Hospital systems like Allina Health, Hennepin Healthcare, and the Mayo Clinic Health System recruit health administration graduates from online MHA programs in Minnesota and policy experts from online MPP programs for Minnesota students to manage population health initiatives. For these roles, a concentration that mirrors the job description reduces the time to hire and accelerates your impact.

The One Specialized Concentration in the Ranking

Among ranked online programs, Minnesota State University-Mankato offers the clearest specialized path: a Health Behavior and Health Promotion concentration. The curriculum builds skills in health communication, program planning, and evaluation, and the program explicitly prepares graduates for the Certified Health Education Specialist (CHES) exam. That combination aligns directly with community health and health education positions at Minnesota's county health departments and nonprofit organizations. Graduates emerge ready to step into roles designing anti-tobacco campaigns, nutrition education programs, or chronic disease self-management workshops.

Building a Pseudo-Specialization Through Electives and Practicum

Even within generalist programs, you can craft a focus that mirrors employer demand. The University of St. Thomas's MPH, while generalist in structure, offers electives in global health and injury prevention and centers a health equity capstone that can be tailored to a Minnesota community. St. Catherine University infuses its hybrid MPH with a global health lens and offers international placements, but also grounds students in research and policy skills valued by local health systems. In every case, your choice of practicum project and capstone topic remains the ultimate concentration. Pairing a general MPH with a practicum embedded in an MDH unit or a Mayo Clinic community health team often produces the same outcome as a formal concentration.

Applied Practice Experience and Practicum Placements in Minnesota

Minnesota's dense network of government agencies, healthcare systems, and grassroots organizations creates a fieldwork laboratory that few other states can match for public health graduate students. Online MPH learners here can build their skills inside the Minnesota Department of Health, major urban hospitals, county-level departments, and tribal health programs that serve the state's most vulnerable populations.

Where Minnesota Students Find Practicum Sites

The most frequently tapped practicum hosts reflect the state's layered public health infrastructure. Students commonly complete their hours at:

  • Minnesota Department of Health (MDH): Rotations in infectious disease, health equity, or emergency preparedness place graduate learners alongside the professionals who shape statewide policy.
  • Hennepin Healthcare: A large safety-net system that exposes MPH candidates to clinical-community linkages, population health analytics, and intervention design.
  • Ramsey County Public Health: County-level practice in maternal-child health, chronic disease prevention, and community assessment gives students hands-on experience with local governance.
  • Community health centers: Organizations like NorthPoint Health & Wellness and Community Health Service Inc. offer direct engagement with underserved neighborhoods and cultural competence skill building.
  • Tribal health programs: Minnesota is home to several federally recognized tribes, and practicums with tribal health agencies provide invaluable insight into bridging Western public health models with Indigenous health frameworks.

How Each Program Structures the Field Experience

Each CEPH-accredited online MPH program in Minnesota shapes its practicum slightly differently, and understanding those differences can determine where you end up and how much time it requires.

  • University of Minnesota: The school-wide minimum is 90 hours, but some specializations demand more; the University of Minnesota's Applied Practice Experience guide specifies 135 hours for its track. Students self-identify a site and preceptor with faculty guidance, then work through a six-stage process that requires defining at least five competencies and two tangible products. This model rewards students who already have professional networks in the state, but out-of-state learners can negotiate remote settings with program approval.
  • Saint Mary's University of Minnesota: The program recently lowered its hour requirement from 240 to 120 to align with typical CEPH benchmarks, making the practicum more accessible for working students.1 Placement mechanics are not fully documented in public materials, but the program follows the common student-arranged model; you should verify current handbook details before enrolling.
  • Walden University: Walden requires 200 hours of supervised practice, with preceptor and site approval built into the process.2 The practicum is compulsory for graduation, and Walden's fully online delivery explicitly supports remote placements, out-of-state learners often complete their hours at a local health department or nonprofit.
  • Capella University: Capella's FlexPath and GuidedPath MPH programs lead to CEPH accreditation and presumably include a practicum, but the university does not publish specific hour totals or arrangement logistics on its general website. Anyone considering Capella should request the current MPH practicum manual to avoid surprises.

Can Out-of-State Students Complete the Practicum Remotely?

For University of Minnesota and Saint Mary's, the fully online format implies no geographic constraint; students typically work with a site in their own community as long as an appropriate preceptor and learning objectives are approved. Walden makes this explicit in its manual, remote placement is the norm for many enrollees. Capella's policy is not documented, so out-of-state applicants should clarify before committing. Always check with the program coordinator, because affiliation agreements and state authorization rules can occasionally limit where you serve.

Practicum as a Career Pipeline

Fieldwork in Minnesota often doubles as an extended interview. A well-chosen placement can lead directly to a post-graduation role with the same organization. If you're interested in how public health intersects with government leadership, explore online MPA programs in Minnesota or public policy programs to see complementary degrees that open doors in state and local agencies.

Admissions Requirements and GRE Policies

GRE and Standardized Test Policies

In 2026, every CEPH-accredited online MPH program available to Minnesota residents has eliminated the GRE mandate. The University of Minnesota's School of Public Health Graduate Program Application Process confirms that GRE scores are not required for any master's or doctoral program, including the online Public Health Administration & Policy MPH, the Executive MPH in Public Health Practice, and the Maternal and Child Health MPH. Saint Mary's University of Minnesota similarly states that GMAT and GRE scores are not required for its online MPH program. This shift means Minnesota applicants can avoid standardized exam prep entirely and focus on showcasing academic readiness through transcripts and professional background.

Minimum GPA and Academic Prerequisites

GPA expectations vary by program and intensity: The University of Minnesota sets a preferred cumulative undergraduate GPA of 3.00 for its standard online MPH tracks. The Executive MPH is slightly more selective, requiring a 3.25 GPA on the Public Health Core Concepts certificate or a prior advanced degree. Saint Mary's maintains a more accessible floor: a minimum 2.75 GPA for regular admission, with a provisional admissions pathway for applicants below that threshold at the program director's discretion. Neither school prescribes a rigid set of prerequisite courses for all MPH concentrations, though Saint Mary's notes that students without relevant experience may need to complete two foundational undergraduate courses during their first semester.

Work Experience and Advanced Standing

Professional experience requirements correlate strongly with program design. The University of Minnesota's Executive MPH explicitly requires some work experience in health or human services, as detailed on its Executive MPH admissions requirements page. The Maternal and Child Health MPH expects at least one year in a community-based clinic or agency, or three to five years of professional experience or an advanced degree in a related field.1 In contrast, the general Public Health Administration & Policy MPH considers experience preferred but not mandatory, and the broader School of Public Health application process does not impose a universal work history hurdle. Saint Mary's online MPH imposes no work experience requirement at all. For experienced professionals, the University of Minnesota's Executive MPH offers advanced standing to applicants who hold an advanced degree or have completed the Public Health Core Concepts certificate, potentially shortening time to degree.2 Saint Mary's does not advertise a formal advanced-standing or accelerated admissions route.

Application Timelines and Admission Cycles

Admissions operate on differing schedules. University of Minnesota MPH programs generally follow fixed cohort start dates, often with fall and sometimes spring entry options, and deadlines published well in advance. Saint Mary's online MPH uses a rolling admissions format with multiple start dates throughout the year, allowing faster turnaround from application to enrollment. This rolling model can be especially useful for working professionals who decide to apply mid-year. Regardless of the timeline, preparing a strong application, with a clear personal statement and letters of recommendation, remains the central task, now that GRE scores no longer stand in the way.

How Long Does an Online MPH Take in Minnesota?

Completion timelines for Minnesota's online MPH programs range from roughly 12 months at the accelerated end to four or more years for part-time students. The right pace depends on whether you are studying full time or balancing coursework around a professional schedule. Below is a side-by-side look at the verified timelines for each program track.

Online MPH completion timelines in Minnesota ranging from 12 months full-time to 48 months part-time across verified programs

Career Outcomes and Salary Expectations for Minnesota MPH Graduates

What can an epidemiologist, health educator, or health services manager actually expect to earn in the Twin Cities after finishing an MPH? The most reliable starting point is the federal government's own wage data, not a private salary site with an unclear methodology.

Start With BLS Wage Data by Occupation Code

The Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics program tracks pay by precise occupation codes, and searching those codes directly is far more useful than a generic web search. For public health careers, the three codes worth bookmarking are:

  • Epidemiologists (19-1041): The most recent national data (May 2023) puts the median annual wage at $81,390, with the 10th percentile at $54,950 and the 90th percentile above $132,230, across roughly 10,230 workers nationally.1 In the Minneapolis-St. Paul-Bloomington metro specifically, BLS reports a mean wage near $84,000 across about 270 epidemiologists, though the agency does not publish a full percentile breakdown for this metro area.1
  • Health education specialists (21-1091): BLS maintains state and metro tables for this occupation; pull the current figures directly from the OEWS tables rather than relying on secondhand numbers, since wage levels shift with each annual release.2
  • Medical and health services managers (11-9111): Same approach applies here. This is typically the highest-paying of the three tracks, and checking the live BLS table for Minnesota and the Twin Cities metro will give the most accurate current range.2

Filter each search by Minnesota or by the Minneapolis-St. Paul-Bloomington area to get geography-specific figures rather than national averages, which can run higher or lower than what the Twin Cities market actually pays.2

Why Program-Specific Data Matters More Than National Averages

BLS figures describe everyone working under a given job title, not MPH graduates specifically. A program's own career outcomes page tells a more targeted story. The University of Minnesota School of Public Health publishes graduate outcome data that reflects the employers, sectors, and starting roles its own alumni actually land, which is a closer proxy for what a new Minnesota MPH grad should expect than a national occupational average.

Cross-Check With Professional Associations and Real Practitioners

The Minnesota Public Health Association, the American Public Health Association, and metro-specific epidemiology or healthcare management groups often publish salary surveys, job boards, and negotiation guidance tailored to the state. Pair that with a LinkedIn search for recent MPH alumni now working as epidemiologists, health educators, or managers in the Twin Cities. A handful of informational interviews with people two or three years into their careers will do more to calibrate realistic salary expectations than any single published table.

Minnesota MPH Earnings at a Glance

These figures draw from federal data on graduates of Minnesota-based MPH programs and Bureau of Labor Statistics occupational medians for the state. Together they offer a snapshot of what an MPH can mean for your wallet and your career.

Minnesota MPH Earnings at a Glance

Common Questions About Online MPH Programs in Minnesota

These are the questions prospective students ask most often about earning a Master of Public Health online in Minnesota. Each answer draws on program details, tuition figures, and career data discussed throughout this guide.

  1. What are the CEPH-accredited online MPH programs in Minnesota?

    The University of Minnesota School of Public Health is the primary source of CEPH-accredited online MPH options in the state. Its Distance MPH in Public Health Administration and Policy and its online MPH in Maternal and Child Health (advanced standing) both carry full CEPH accreditation, reaffirmed in 2022 for a seven-year term.1 Other Minnesota-based online programs, such as those at Saint Mary's University and Capella University, are not CEPH-accredited.4 See the accreditation section above for details on why CEPH status matters.

  2. How much does an online MPH cost in Minnesota?

    At the University of Minnesota, the Distance MPH in Public Health Administration and Policy costs roughly $1,231 per credit for residents (about $54,164 for 44 credits) and $1,619 per credit for nonresidents (about $71,236 total).2 The Executive MPH runs approximately $48,552 for residents across 42 credits.3 Tuition for Saint Mary's and Capella is not published in current sources, so contact those schools directly. The tuition comparison table earlier in this article provides a side-by-side cost breakdown.

  3. Can I complete an online MPH in Minnesota without taking the GRE?

    Yes. The University of Minnesota's Distance MPH in Public Health Administration and Policy does not require the GRE2, though it does prefer a minimum 3.0 undergraduate GPA. Saint Mary's University similarly waives the GRE for its online MPH.4 If avoiding the GRE is a priority, the admissions section of this guide identifies each program's testing policy.

  4. How long does it take to earn an online MPH in Minnesota?

    Most programs take roughly two years of full-time study. The University of Minnesota's Distance MPH and its Maternal and Child Health track follow a similar timeline. The Executive MPH, designed for working professionals, may extend to two to three years depending on your pace. Saint Mary's lists a 24 to 36 month range,4 and Capella estimates about 33 months. The timeline infographic earlier in this article maps out each program's expected duration.

  5. What career outcomes can I expect with an MPH in Minnesota?

    Minnesota MPH graduates move into roles in health policy, epidemiology, program management, and community health leadership. Employers include the Minnesota Department of Health, county and tribal health agencies, hospital systems such as Mayo Clinic and Allina Health, and nonprofit organizations. The University of Minnesota's Public Health Administration and Policy concentration is specifically geared toward management positions. See the career outcomes section above for salary benchmarks and employer demand data.

  6. Is an online MPH from the University of Minnesota worth it?

    For students who value CEPH accreditation, policy-oriented concentrations, and strong employer recognition across the Upper Midwest, the University of Minnesota's online MPH carries significant weight. Its School of Public Health holds a seven-year CEPH accreditation term, and the Distance MPH allows you to complete your practicum in your own community, which can open doors with local employers. Weigh the tuition against scholarship opportunities and your career goals using the cost comparison table in this article.

  7. Can I complete a Minnesota MPH practicum from out of state?

    Yes. The University of Minnesota's Distance MPH in Public Health Administration and Policy is designed so students complete their Applied Practice Experience in their own community, regardless of location.2 This means out-of-state students can arrange placements with local health departments, hospitals, or community organizations near them. If you do live in Minnesota, the practicum placements section above details options with state and county health agencies, hospital systems, and community health centers.

Recent Articles

See all articles