What you’ll learn in this article…
- MA programs often require a thesis; MPAs stress 36 applied credits.
- NASPAA's 2026-2027 roster lists 215 accredited programs.
- Tuition runs from $12,800 (UNC System residents) to $102,000-plus at USC Price.
Compare MA and MPA degrees, accreditation, costs, and career paths before you apply
What does a Master of Arts in Public Administration cost, what does it teach, and where does it lead? Published 2026-27 tuition ranges from roughly $12,800 at a public flagship for in-state students to more than $102,000 for a premium online program, while the credential itself usually requires about 36 credit hours of coursework.
The label adds confusion. Many schools award the same management-focused degree as an MPA, while others use MA for a more research-oriented track with a thesis. Titles matter less than curriculum, accreditation, and what employers in your target sector, including those hiring for Non-Government MPA Jobs, actually screen for.
The practical tension is price against payoff: government salaries rarely scale with tuition, so the cheapest accredited public administration degree often wins.
Choosing a graduate degree in public administration means weighing a credential's label against what the coursework actually teaches, and the two do not always line up. A Master of Arts in Public Administration is graduate training in managing public and nonprofit organizations, with a focus on budgeting, personnel, program evaluation, and the practical work of turning policy into services. Graduates are prepared to run agencies, oversee funds, and carry out decisions that elected officials and boards have already made.
Three groups make up most of the readers this degree serves:
The name on the diploma is less consistent than you might expect. Some universities award an MA in Public Administration, while others award a Master of Public Administration (MPA) for coursework that looks very similar on paper. The difference sometimes reflects the college that houses the program, a more academic or research-oriented design, or simply institutional history. Because of that overlap, the title alone will not tell you what a program emphasizes or how employers will read it.
The next section breaks down the practical differences between the MA and the MPA, and how both compare to related graduate degrees such as the MPA or MPP Degree.
MPA students usually complete 36 semester credit hours focused on budgeting, personnel, and management; an MA in Public Administration often requires a thesis or capstone with a theory and research emphasis. That distinction shapes the degree you choose and the MPA career paths you can pursue after graduation, especially if you are deciding between an administrative and a research career.
The Master of Public Administration is built around policy implementation. It trains students to run public agencies, manage budgets, supervise staff, and translate policy into programs. The MA in Public Administration puts more weight on theory and research, which makes it a stronger fit for students considering doctoral work, policy research, or analytical roles. In practice, both degrees can lead to similar government and nonprofit jobs, but the MPA tends to be the more common professional credential for line management and agency leadership.
Many MPA programs have MPA credit requirements around 36 semester hours. At the University of Colorado Colorado Springs and the University of Southern Indiana, the MPA is 36 credit hours; Kansas State's MPA runs 36 to 37 hours. Culminating requirements vary. Some programs let students choose a capstone or thesis, while others use a comprehensive exam, as in the University of Alaska MPA. Transfer policies also differ. Kansas State, for example, accepts up to 10 graduate credit hours with a grade of B or better, provided the credits were earned within the last seven years. Use program-specific transfer limits as a tiebreaker if you are weighing multiple options.
Most MA programs in public administration require a shared core before students move into electives or a concentration, following MPA curriculum requirements. Expect courses in public management, policy analysis, public budgeting and finance, research methods, and public law or ethics. Total credit requirements commonly fall between 30 and 42 semester credits. Because the Master of Arts label often emphasizes social science inquiry, students may see a heavier research methods or statistics sequence and a formal thesis option than in a practice-oriented MPA.
Some programs also offer public finance, social policy, environmental policy, or homeland security tracks. Choosing among MPA specializations can shape elective courses and final project topics, but most MA degrees still leave room for cross-sector electives.
The final requirement should match the career direction. A thesis is the strongest signal for doctoral study: students design an original research question, collect or analyze data, and defend the work. A capstone is usually a client-based or policy project in which a small team or individual produces a recommendation for a real public or nonprofit organization. It fits students seeking a promotion or a management credential. A practicum or internship works best for applicants with little public-sector experience, because it converts academic work into supervised workplace learning and professional contacts.
MPA and MA in public administration admissions follow a common pattern, but each school sets its own thresholds. Treat the figures below as typical ranges and confirm details with each program.
The accredited roster keeps growing, which matters because applicants increasingly treat accreditation as a proxy for quality in a market crowded with new online master's degrees. The 2026-2027 Roster of Accredited Programs, effective September 1, 2026, lists 215 programs at 200 schools,1 up from 209 programs at 196 schools in January 2026,2 and adding six newly accredited programs.1 NASPAA reports 314 member institutions, so roughly 64% of eligible members hold accreditation.1
Accreditation is granted by NASPAA's Commission on Peer Review and Accreditation (COPRA) and is program-level, not institution-level.3 A university cannot be "NASPAA accredited"; a specific master's degree can. COPRA reviews conformity with seven broad quality areas covering how a program is managed, staffed, taught, and assessed, and it weighs that conformity against the program's own stated mission rather than a single template.4 The NASPAA accreditation process runs through a detailed self-study, commission review, and a two- to three-day site visit.4 Accreditation also extends beyond the MPA label to qualifying master's degrees in public affairs, public policy, and nonprofit management.
Here the honest answer is narrower than the marketing suggests. Federal employment does not require a NASPAA-accredited degree as a blanket condition; qualification is governed by the individual vacancy announcement, which specifies education, degree field, coursework, and specialized experience.5 The Presidential Management Fellows program generally requires an advanced degree completed within its eligibility window, and NASPAA accreditation is not identified as a general requirement.5 Always treat the current vacancy or official program announcement as controlling. If it names an accreditor or specific coursework, those exact terms govern.
Unaccredited programs can still be excellent, particularly strong regional degrees with deep local government networks. Accreditation matters most when you are targeting competitive federal pipelines, national fellowships, or an online Ph.D. in public administration, where reviewers use it as a fast credibility filter.
Published 2026-27 tuition for public administration master's programs runs from roughly $12,800 for North Carolina residents at a UNC System campus to more than $102,000 for USC Price's online MPA. Most of the prices below are posted for MPA programs. They are the most practical benchmark whether you enroll in an MA or an MPA, and they show that sector (public or private) shapes your bill far more than delivery format. Treat every total as tuition only: several schools exclude mandatory fees, so confirm the full cost of attendance before you commit.
| Program Type | Per-Credit Range | Typical Credits | Estimated Total Tuition | Fee Notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Private online: University of Southern California Price School MPA | $2,539 per unit | 40 units (41 for pre-service students) | $102,091 (40 units) | Total reflects 40 units. Pre-service students without prior work experience need 41 units, which raises the total. |
| Private campus: Syracuse University Maxwell School MPA | $2,086 per credit | 40 credits | $83,440 | Based on the 2026-27 graduate tuition rate. The published billable-expenses table lists tuition charges totaling $83,440. |
| Private online: University of Miami MPA | $1,454 per credit | 36 credits | $52,344 | Fees are not included in the total. Based on the 2026-2027 UOnline tuition and fees rate. |
| Public online: Penn State World Campus MPA | $1,048 per credit | 36 to 39 credits | N/A (no program total published) | 2026-27 rates apply to fall 2026, spring 2027, and summer 2027. Students taking 11 or fewer credits pay $1,048 per credit. Students taking 12 or more pay a flat $12,572 per semester. |
| Public online: Ohio University MPA | $750 (Ohio resident); $772 (non-resident) | 36 credits | $27,000 (Ohio resident); $27,792 (non-resident) | Separate mandatory fees were not reported. |
| Public online: Louisiana State University MPA | $730 per credit | 36 credits | $26,280 | Flat-rate tuition with no out-of-state fees. |
| Public campus, in-state vs. out-of-state: University of North Carolina System MPA | N/A (not reported) | N/A (not reported) | $12,764 (residents); $31,421 (nonresidents) | Program amounts come from the 2026-27 tuition authorization. The per-credit rate, credit requirement, and separate mandatory fees were not reported. |
| Public online, national benchmark: 2026 online MPA cost survey | Roughly $6,650 to $9,800 per year in-state | 36 to 42 credits | $16,000 to $25,000 before fees | Many public universities charge a flat online rate regardless of residency, but the practice is not universal. Totals exclude fees. |
The cheapest MPA is rarely the one with the lowest sticker price. It is the one where someone else covers the largest share, so the order in which you pursue funding matters as much as the amount.
Verified 2026 award levels for named public administration fellowships and assistantships are not available1, so confirm amounts with each program. One practical step: ask every program about MPA funding and assistantships before you apply. Not all of them publicize these positions, and a direct question to admissions can surface options you would otherwise miss.
Public Service Loan Forgiveness, administered through Federal Student Aid, cancels remaining federal Direct Loan balances after 120 qualifying monthly payments.1 In plain terms:
Rules changed for loans disbursed on or after July 1, 20261, so check your disbursement dates and repayment plan individually.
The IRS lets employers provide up to $5,250 tax-free in 20263, and that single cap covers tuition assistance and student-loan payments combined. When you ask, tie the degree to your agency's goals, request the written policy, and confirm whether a service commitment applies.
What jobs can you get with a master's in public administration, and what do they pay? The answer depends heavily on sector, so it helps to look at each one separately.
Common entry and mid-career roles include program analyst and management analyst. Federal pay follows the General Schedule, and a master's degree does not automatically set your grade. Placement depends on the position's classification, its duties, and the specialized experience in the vacancy announcement. MPA holders most often land between GS-9 and GS-13, while GS-14 and GS-15 tend to be supervisory, program-management, or policy leadership roles. For scale, the 2026 base table from the Office of Personnel Management (which includes a 1% increase) lists GS-11 at $63,795 at step 1 and $82,938 at step 10. Locality pay adds to those figures, so check the specific announcement.
Budget analyst is a typical entry point, and city or county manager is a common career-long goal. Other options include agency analyst, finance officer, and department director. Reliable 2026 salary ranges for these roles are hard to pin down because pay swings with jurisdiction size and budget. A manager of a large city or county generally earns far more than a small-town counterpart.
Program director and executive director are the usual targets. Compensation tracks organizational budget, so a large foundation or health system pays very differently from a small community group. Executive directors of large organizations, city and county managers, and senior federal executives are generally the top earners, though I would not quote a definitive ranking.
The Bureau of Labor Statistics publishes projected growth for budget analysts, management analysts, social and community service managers, and local government managers in its Occupational Outlook Handbook. Projections shift with each cycle and are tied to a specific period, so confirm the current percentage on each occupation's page before relying on it.
Realistic first jobs include:
Federal early-career hiring programs have been changing, so check USAJOBS directly for current openings and eligibility rather than assuming a particular pathway exists.
No federal dataset tracks pay for Master of Arts in Public Administration or MPA graduates directly, so the figures below use national data from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' 2025 Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics for management occupations that graduates commonly move into. Social and Community Service Managers, the closest match for nonprofit and human services leadership, earn a median of $80,390, while the catch-all Managers, All Other category, which covers specialized managers not classified elsewhere, reaches a median of $141,900. Chief executive pay reflects many years of senior experience and should be read as a long-term ceiling, not an entry-level expectation.
| Occupation | National Employment | Mean Annual Wage | 25th Percentile | Median Annual Wage | 75th Percentile |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| General and Operations Managers | 3,503,020 | $134,940 | $72,320 | $105,770 | $167,280 |
| Social and Community Service Managers | 209,330 | $88,880 | $64,290 | $80,390 | $103,200 |
| Managers, All Other | 622,190 | $153,890 | $102,880 | $141,900 | $186,300 |
| Chief Executives | 204,350 | $269,630 | $129,540 | $213,990 | $356,200 |
| Transportation, Storage, and Distribution Managers | 221,180 | $121,600 | $82,440 | $107,230 | $146,770 |
Without prior government work, most graduates enter through a structured experience role and move up through analysis and program management before reaching executive posts. The degree speeds up the climb, but early roles still depend on internships, fellowships, and the professional network you build during the program.

Location shapes management pay as much as job title does, and the federal and nonprofit hubs where many public administration graduates land are among the highest-paying markets in the country. The figures below come from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (2025) and list the largest metro employers for each occupation, so read the median alongside the 25th and 75th percentiles to see the realistic range. Washington-Arlington-Alexandria stands out for public-sector-adjacent roles, leading the nation in employment for the broad "all other" managers category at a median of $170,980 and topping the medians for social and community service managers at $101,240.
| Occupation | Metro Area | Employment | 25th Percentile | Median Annual Wage | 75th Percentile | Mean Annual Wage |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Social and Community Service Managers | New York-Newark-Jersey City, NY-NJ | 16,090 | $80,620 | $100,570 | $128,890 | $108,740 |
| Social and Community Service Managers | Los Angeles-Long Beach-Anaheim, CA | 12,400 | $72,760 | $87,100 | $126,190 | $98,460 |
| Social and Community Service Managers | Boston-Cambridge-Newton, MA-NH | 5,730 | $70,620 | $85,430 | $104,910 | $93,400 |
| Social and Community Service Managers | Chicago-Naperville-Elgin, IL-IN | 5,390 | $65,000 | $79,150 | $97,220 | $84,340 |
| Social and Community Service Managers | Philadelphia-Camden-Wilmington, PA-NJ-DE-MD | 5,320 | $66,150 | $80,810 | $104,010 | $88,750 |
| Social and Community Service Managers | San Francisco-Oakland-Fremont, CA | 5,080 | $78,540 | $93,410 | $120,450 | $103,520 |
| Social and Community Service Managers | Minneapolis-St. Paul-Bloomington, MN-WI | 3,570 | $75,480 | $89,990 | $120,740 | $98,430 |
| Social and Community Service Managers | Dallas-Fort Worth-Arlington, TX | 3,390 | $64,530 | $80,480 | $103,770 | $88,040 |
| Social and Community Service Managers | Washington-Arlington-Alexandria, DC-VA-MD-WV | 2,920 | $79,140 | $101,240 | $132,920 | $109,050 |
| Social and Community Service Managers | San Diego-Chula Vista-Carlsbad, CA | 2,910 | $66,500 | $79,770 | $103,850 | $89,690 |
| Managers, All Other | Washington-Arlington-Alexandria, DC-VA-MD-WV | 42,010 | $151,990 | $170,980 | $195,190 | $176,670 |
| Managers, All Other | New York-Newark-Jersey City, NY-NJ | 34,400 | $128,770 | $169,800 | $218,090 | $180,660 |
| Managers, All Other | Los Angeles-Long Beach-Anaheim, CA | 31,210 | $125,470 | $168,160 | $213,340 | $178,570 |
| Managers, All Other | Chicago-Naperville-Elgin, IL-IN | 26,170 | $109,590 | $145,370 | $189,350 | $158,230 |
| Managers, All Other | Atlanta-Sandy Springs-Roswell, GA | 24,490 | $96,170 | $130,340 | $169,570 | $141,090 |
| Managers, All Other | San Francisco-Oakland-Fremont, CA | 21,550 | $164,010 | $210,080 | $278,880 | $211,720 |
| Managers, All Other | Dallas-Fort Worth-Arlington, TX | 19,890 | $104,100 | $139,810 | $179,000 | $153,070 |
| Managers, All Other | Houston-Pasadena-The Woodlands, TX | 14,930 | $104,670 | $144,820 | $181,900 | $154,300 |
| Managers, All Other | San Jose-Sunnyvale-Santa Clara, CA | 13,740 | $172,290 | $217,280 | $300,010 | $235,090 |
| Managers, All Other | Philadelphia-Camden-Wilmington, PA-NJ-DE-MD | 12,300 | $102,660 | $140,750 | $180,180 | $152,210 |
| General and Operations Managers | New York-Newark-Jersey City, NY-NJ | 177,850 | $100,040 | $157,000 | $226,350 | $189,200 |
| General and Operations Managers | Dallas-Fort Worth-Arlington, TX | 125,090 | $71,040 | $111,010 | $173,250 | $139,120 |
| General and Operations Managers | Chicago-Naperville-Elgin, IL-IN | 122,930 | $76,900 | $109,390 | $175,170 | $143,740 |
| General and Operations Managers | Washington-Arlington-Alexandria, DC-VA-MD-WV | 112,530 | $99,840 | $156,460 | $201,010 | $163,620 |
| General and Operations Managers | Los Angeles-Long Beach-Anaheim, CA | 104,610 | $83,200 | $125,830 | $187,480 | $157,110 |
The MPA pays off when a specific job requires it, and rarely when it is pursued as a general credential. Run the decision through four filters, in this order.
Applying cost last is deliberate. A cheap program that does not point at your target role is still a poor purchase.
The degree most reliably earns its cost when it leads to a defined step: a promotion that formally requires a master's, or a move into management in a government role with a published pay scale. In those cases you can read the raise straight off the schedule and divide it into your net cost to see the MPA payback period.
For a looser estimate, compare the pay gap between your current role and the related management occupations in the public administration salary tables above against the total degree prices in the cost section. Bureau of Labor Statistics figures cover those occupations as a whole. They are not specific to MPA graduates, so treat them as a ceiling on what is plausible, not a promise.
Hold off if you cannot name a target role. Wait, too, if the program would leave you with an MPA debt burden and you would not qualify for Public Service Loan Forgiveness, since private nonprofit or for-profit employers can put that benefit out of reach. In either case, a year or two of public-sector experience, ideally with an employer that offers tuition help, will make the same degree cheaper and more useful.