Best Affordable Online MHA Programs for 2027

Compare total tuition, CAHME accreditation, and salary outcomes across the most budget-friendly online MHA degrees for working professionals.

By Carrie HirschReviewed by PAP Editoral TeamUpdated August 29, 202625+ min read

What you’ll learn in this article…

  • Total program costs across the 14 ranked MHA programs range from $7,400 to $17,500.
  • Most top affordable programs have permanently dropped the GRE requirement.
  • PSLF eligibility in public health or VA roles can erase remaining loan balances.

A per-credit rate of $350 sounds cheaper than $500, but if the first program requires 60 credits and the second only 36, the math flips entirely. Across the 28 online MHA programs we analyzed, total program costs range from roughly $7,400 to just over $21,000, a spread that disappears when schools advertise only their per-credit tuition.

Many public universities now charge online students a single flat rate regardless of residency, eliminating the old in-state versus out-of-state gap. That shift makes total cost the only honest comparison metric for students shopping across state lines.

The rankings ahead break down all 14 most affordable programs by verified total cost, flag which hold CAHME accreditation, filter options that waive the GRE, and examine actual salary outcomes against median debt.

How We Calculated Total Program Cost and Ranked These MHA Programs

Total program cost is the full amount you will pay to complete your MHA degree, calculated by multiplying the cost per credit by the number of credits required for graduation. This figure matters far more than the per-credit rate alone because programs vary widely in length, from 36 credits to 60 or more, and a lower per-credit price can easily result in a higher final bill if the curriculum demands additional coursework.

Why Sticker Tuition Misleads

Published tuition rates rarely tell the whole story. A program advertising $450 per credit sounds cheaper than one at $550, but if the first requires 54 credits and the second only 36, you would pay $24,300 versus $19,800. Rankings that sort by per-credit cost alone reward programs that stretch curricula unnecessarily. Our methodology calculates the actual dollar figure a student faces at graduation, making comparisons meaningful regardless of program structure.

How We Weighted the Data

Affordability metrics carry the heaviest weight in our ranking. Total program cost anchors the analysis, followed by net price, which reflects typical out-of-pocket expense after institutional aid. Graduation rate factors in because a program you never finish offers no return on investment. Where available, program-level earnings data helps gauge whether graduates recoup their investment within a reasonable timeframe. Schools with strong earnings relative to debt load receive a modest boost, but cost remains the dominant factor.

Accounting for Flat Online Tuition

Many universities charge distance learners a single online rate regardless of residency, eliminating the out-of-state premium that would apply on campus. When a school offers this flat rate, we use that figure for all prospective students rather than defaulting to in-state tuition that only a fraction of applicants could claim. This approach ensures the rankings reflect what most online students actually pay.

Data Sources and Limitations

Tuition and fee data come from the Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System, with institutional disclosures filling gaps for online-specific pricing. Earnings and debt figures draw from the College Scorecard, which reports outcomes at the program level where sample sizes permit. Graduation rates are institution-wide rather than MHA-specific, a limitation worth noting since completion patterns can differ across departments. Despite these constraints, this combination of federal and institutional data provides the most transparent snapshot available for comparing online MHA programs.

The 14 Most Affordable Online MHA Programs for 2027

What an MHA actually costs you is two numbers multiplied together: the price of a credit and the number of credits the degree requires. Across the programs below, published tuition and required fees run from about $6,360 to $41,203 a year depending on residency, and credit requirements stretch from 30 hours to 60, so two schools with similar annual price tags can land tens of thousands of dollars apart by graduation. Three schools here charge one flat rate no matter where you live, which matters most if you are not a resident of the state where the program sits. Program-level first-year and four-year earnings are not yet published for these health administration programs, so the earnings figures cited here are institution-wide medians from federal data.

Factors considered
  • First-year retention rates
  • Graduation rates and student-faculty ratios
  • Published tuition and required fees
  • Average net price after grant aid
  • Regional cost-of-living adjustments
Data sources
  • NCES-IPEDS federal institutional data covering graduation rates, retention rates and student-faculty ratios — nces.ed.gov
  • BEA Regional Price Parities (state cost of living) — bea.gov
  • College Scorecard graduate earnings — collegescorecard.ed.gov
  • Program-level records maintained in house
  • Independent program research
  1. #1

    CUNY Bernard M Baruch College

    New York, NY · $11,000 – $21,000/yr (est.)

    Hispanic-Serving Institution

    Best for: Part-time learners who want evening classes

    Baruch College pairs a business-school core with healthcare coursework, so graduates leave with management training plus industry-specific knowledge. The healthcare administration track sits inside the Zicklin School's executive MBA, an accelerated part-time program that runs about 22 months. Tuition and required fees are about $7,464 a year for New York residents and $15,414 for everyone else, and the average net price across aided students is near $3,033. About 72 percent of students graduate, and institution-wide median earnings a decade after enrollment are around $75,971.

    View program
    • Four-semester accelerated part-time sequence, about 22 months
    • Evening classes Tuesdays and Thursdays, 6:00 to 8:45 pm
    • Fall 2026 application deadline extended to April 1, 2026
    • Combines business fundamentals with healthcare industry coursework
    • Prepares graduates for executive roles in hospitals, clinics, and insurers
    • Part-time format lets students apply coursework on the job
  2. #2

    CUNY Lehman College

    Bronx, NY · ~$12,000/yr (est.)

    Hispanic-Serving Institution

    Best for: Aspiring managers with clinical experience

    Lehman College offers one of the shortest routes on this list: a 30-credit master's that full-time students can finish in about a year. Courses run on seven-week schedules with synchronous and asynchronous options, and admission requires a 3.0 GPA plus a year of healthcare experience. Tuition and required fees run about $7,410 in state and $15,360 out of state, with an average net price near $3,148. The graduation rate is about 51 percent, and median earnings a decade after enrollment are near $58,013.

    View program
    • 30 credit hours across 10 courses
    • Can be completed in one year of full-time study
    • Seven-week course schedules with fall and spring starts
    • Synchronous and asynchronous options
    • Requires a 3.0 GPA and one year of healthcare experience
    • Three letters of recommendation and a 500-word essay
    • Prepares graduates for management roles in hospitals, clinics, nonprofits, and government
  3. #3

    California State University-Northridge

    Northridge, CA · ~$9,000/yr (est.)

    Hispanic-Serving Institution

    Best for: Southern California professionals staying local

    California State University, Northridge serves working professionals across greater Los Angeles with an MHA that meets in person every other week. The curriculum emphasizes quality improvement, strategic and operational planning, financial systems, and health economics, and the program is described as CAHME accredited. Tuition and required fees are about $7,458 a year in state and $20,058 out of state, with an average net price near $7,021. Roughly 57 percent of students graduate, and median earnings a decade after enrollment are near $59,115.

    View program
    • CAHME accredited, per program materials
    • Evening hybrid format with in-person class every other week
    • Built for early- and mid-career working professionals
    • Coursework in quality improvement, strategy, and financial systems
    • Health economics and informatics included in the curriculum
    • Prepares graduates for hospitals, public health agencies, and community clinics
  4. #4

    American Public University System

    Charles Town, WV · $5,000 – $10,000/yr (est.)

    American Public University System serves a heavily military and public-service student body with a fully online healthcare administration master's. The 40-credit curriculum is built on ACHE domains and covers legal and ethical administration, organizational behavior, health information management, and finance. The school charges one flat rate to all students, about $8,400 a year in tuition and required fees, with an average net price near $9,597. About 57 percent of students graduate, and median earnings a decade after enrollment are near $44,409.

    View program
    • 40 credit hours aligned with ACHE domains
    • Initial CAHME accreditation announced in 2025
    • Coursework in legal and ethical administration and health information management
    • Financial management and organizational behavior core
    • Emotional intelligence built into the leadership curriculum
    • Designed for working adults in military and public service
  5. #5

    University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

    Chapel Hill, NC · ~$13,000/yr (est.)

    UNC-Chapel Hill brings the Gillings School of Global Public Health to this list, along with the most credit-intensive program here at 60 hours. Students combine health law, economics, finance, strategy, and operations research with a supervised internship and a capstone. Tuition and required fees run about $8,994 a year in state and $41,203 out of state, the widest in-state versus out-of-state gap on this list, though the average net price is near $11,655. About 91 percent of students graduate, and median earnings a decade after enrollment are near $72,200.

    View program
    • 60 credit hours including 11 elective credits
    • CAHME accredited
    • Supervised internship plus a capstone project
    • Faculty mentor guidance on elective selection
    • Public health course waiver possible for qualified students
    • Housed in the Gillings School of Global Public Health
    • Coursework spans health law, economics, finance, strategy, and operations research
  6. #6

    University of West Florida

    Pensacola, FL · $5,000 – $10,000/yr (est.)

    The University of West Florida runs a 45-credit online MHA that working students can finish in about 24 months. Three start dates a year and a cohort model keep students moving with the same group, and coursework is taught by clinical faculty. Tuition and required fees are about $6,360 a year for Florida residents and $19,241 for non-residents, with an average net price near $9,364. About 59 percent of students graduate, and median earnings a decade after enrollment are near $49,137.

    View program
    • 45 credit hours, completed in about 24 months
    • Three start dates per year with a cohort structure
    • Eight- to 16-week course lengths
    • Coursework in finance, health economics, HR, and quality improvement
    • Taught by clinical faculty with practitioner experience
    • Background check required for the internship placement
  7. #7

    California State University-East Bay

    Hayward, CA · $9,000 – $19,000/yr (est.)

    Hispanic-Serving Institution

    Cal State East Bay runs a fully online, cohort-based master's in health care administration built for both experienced professionals and career changers. Students work through the U.S. healthcare system, strategic planning, quality improvement, informatics, financial management, and grant writing before a capstone. Tuition and required fees are about $7,583 a year in state and $20,183 out of state, with an average net price near $9,320. The graduation rate is about 48 percent, and median earnings a decade after enrollment are near $71,401.

    View program
    • 34 credit hours, two courses per semester
    • Cohort-based structure with a capstone requirement
    • 2.5 GPA minimum and two letters of recommendation
    • Coursework in informatics, financial management, and grant writing
    • Covers legal and ethical issues in healthcare
    • Built for career changers as well as experienced professionals
  8. #8

    University of the Potomac-VA Campus

    FALLS CHURCH, VA · ~$6,000/yr (est.)

    The University of the Potomac's Virginia campus serves working adults in the Washington area with a 36-credit MHA that requires no entrance exam. Students take nine core courses and three electives, then finish with a capstone, and can transfer in up to 16 credits. The school charges a flat rate to all students, about $6,660 a year in tuition and required fees, and average net price is not reported for this campus. About 50 percent of students graduate, and median earnings a decade after enrollment are near $34,961.

    View program
    No entrance exam
    • 36 credit hours across 12 courses
    • No entrance exam required
    • Nine core courses plus three electives
    • Electives include healthcare informatics, marketing, and risk management
    • Capstone project applies learning to real-world challenges
    • Transfer up to 16 credits
    • Financial aid and scholarships available
  9. #9

    University of the Potomac-Washington DC Campus

    Washington, DC · ~$6,000/yr (est.)

    The Washington, D.C. campus of the University of the Potomac offers a 36-credit MHA structured around healthcare systems, policy, law, ethics, and financial management. Class sizes are small relative to most schools here, with about 11 students per faculty member, and students can transfer up to 16 credits. Tuition and required fees are a flat $6,660 a year regardless of residency, and average net price is not reported for this campus. The graduation rate is about 33 percent, and median earnings a decade after enrollment are near $34,961.

    View program
    No entrance exam
    • 36 credit hours, typically completed in two years
    • No GRE required for admission
    • Nine core courses and three electives plus a capstone
    • Elective options include informatics and human resource management
    • Transfer up to 16 credits toward the degree
    • Full-time and part-time study available
  10. #10

    Ana G. Mendez University

    Orlando, FL · ~$10,000/yr (est.)

    Hispanic-Serving Institution

    Ana G. Mendez University in Orlando offers a master's in health administration with a specialization in health services management and evaluation, aimed at middle management roles in healthcare organizations. The program is available online or on campus, full-time or part-time, and accepts military and VA benefits. Tuition and required fees are a flat $13,575 a year no matter where a student lives, and the average net price is near $19,775. A graduation rate is not reported in the federal data used here, and neither are institution-wide earnings.

    View program
    • Specialization in health services management and evaluation
    • Available online or on campus in Florida
    • Full-time and part-time options
    • Military and VA benefits accepted
    • Prepares students for middle management in healthcare organizations
    • Coursework integrates management, evaluation, and fiscal responsibility

What Do Affordable Online MHA Programs Really Cost, and What Do Graduates Earn?

Use this snapshot as a quick reference before reading the full ranking. These figures are institution-wide medians and averages for the schools ranked here, drawn from federal data. Program-level MHA earnings are not yet published for these schools. A few programs also charge one online rate regardless of residency, which the ranking notes school by school.

Affordable online MHA schools: $9,342 median net price, $17,437 median debt, $52,087 median earnings, 2024 data

CAHME-Accredited Programs Among the Most Affordable Online MHA Options

Among the 14 most affordable online MHA programs for 2026, several hold active accreditation from the Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Management Education (CAHME), the gold standard for graduate healthcare management programs. CAHME accreditation signals that a program meets rigorous competency benchmarks valued by employers, fellowship programs, and credentialing bodies such as the American College of Healthcare Executives. For students weighing cost against long-term career value, a CAHME-accredited program can open doors to administrative residencies, C-suite leadership tracks, and senior roles at hospitals, health systems, and government agencies where the credential is increasingly expected or preferred. The table below isolates every CAHME-accredited program from our ranked list, showing total estimated program cost for both in-state and out-of-state students, institutional net price, and median earnings ten years after enrollment. Note that program-level earnings data are not yet available for these schools, so the earnings column reflects institution-wide medians reported by the U.S. Department of Education.

SchoolStateFormatTotal Est. Cost (In-State)Total Est. Cost (Out-of-State)Institutional Net PriceMedian Earnings (10 yr, Institution-Wide)
California State University, NorthridgeCAHybrid$8,982$19,062$7,021$59,115
Florida International UniversityFLHybrid / Online$11,334$24,439$9,288$60,249
Weber State UniversityUTHybrid$9,066$18,679$10,258$56,287
University of Nevada, Las VegasNVHybrid$7,413$25,555$10,359$55,037
American Public University SystemWVOnline$8,700$8,700 (flat rate)$9,597$44,409
University of North Carolina at Chapel HillNCHybrid$12,751$31,408$11,655$72,200

Questions to Ask Yourself

Does your target employer or state licensing board require CAHME accreditation for the role you want?
Some health systems, VA facilities, and public sector agencies mandate CAHME accreditation. Verify this before ruling out cheaper non-accredited programs that may still meet other employers' standards.
Is the cost premium of a CAHME-accredited program justified by your career trajectory?
If your path leads to a research, policy, or niche leadership role where accreditation matters less, the extra expense may not translate into a proportional salary bump or advancement opportunity.
Have you checked with your HR department or licensing board before excluding non-CAHME programs?
Requirements vary widely by state and organization. A quick confirmation can open up more affordable pathways without sacrificing your eligibility for key positions or licensure.

Affordable Online MHA Programs That Don't Require the GRE

You can earn an accredited online MHA without taking the GRE, and many of the most affordable programs in the country have already eliminated the exam requirement permanently.

Which Affordable Online MHA Programs Skip the GRE?

Several of the programs we ranked for value have a firm no-GRE policy. Weber State University's Executive MHA, a CAHME-accredited hybrid program with a total cost of $35,000, lists no entrance exam requirement and permanently adopted test-optional admissions.

Even lower-cost options completely bypass the GRE. Winston-Salem State University's online MHA, the most affordable program in our ranking at just $4,302 for in-state students, requires no standardized exam. The online MHA at Southern Illinois University Carbondale, priced at $20,718, also operates under a permanent no-GRE policy. Outside the top 14, several additional budget-friendly programs skip the GRE: Ohio University's online MHA, Maryville University's online MHA, Texas State University's online MHA, Purdue University Global, and Southern New Hampshire University's MS in Healthcare Administration all maintain permanent no-exam admissions.1

Permanent Waivers and Conditional Policies

The post-pandemic era accelerated a trend that has now become standard: schools are abandoning the GRE requirement for good. Permanent waivers signal that admissions committees prioritize GPA, professional experience, and personal statements over a standardized test score.

Other programs offer conditional paths. Grand Canyon University's online MHA waives the GRE for applicants with a minimum 2.8 undergraduate GPA. Point Park University's online MHA drops the exam requirement entirely if you have prior business or healthcare work experience. These conditional policies still let you sidestep the test while maintaining academic quality.

The Real Savings When You Skip the GRE

Eliminating the GRE from your application plan saves more than just the official test fee, which is roughly $205 as of 2025. Most students also spend between $500 and $1,500 on prep courses, study materials, and practice exams. Combined, avoiding the GRE can preserve $705 to $1,705 that you can redirect toward tuition, books, or other graduate school expenses. For an already affordable program, that amount can cover one to two graduate courses.

Find the Full No-GRE MHA List

The programs highlighted here represent only the subset of no-GRE MHA options that also appear in our affordability ranking. Dozens of additional online MHA programs, some with even more generous admission policies, waive the GRE entirely. For a comprehensive directory that includes every accredited online MHA without a test requirement, see our dedicated no-GRE MHA programs online.

FAQ: Costs, Completion Speed, and Career Value of Affordable Online MHA Programs

The questions below cover the most common concerns prospective students raise when comparing affordable online MHA programs. Every cost figure is drawn from verified 2026 program data on publicadministrationpolicy.org, and career and financial aid answers reflect current federal policy and employer practices.

  1. How much does an online MHA degree cost in total?

    Total program cost varies widely depending on credit requirements and per-credit rates. Among the most affordable options in our 2026 rankings, total tuition ranges from roughly $7,300 at Louisiana State University-Shreveport to about $17,000 at UT Rio Grande Valley.1 Programs require between 30 and 54 credits, so multiplying per-credit cost by required credits (not sticker tuition) is the only reliable way to compare.

  2. Which affordable online MHA programs can be completed the fastest?

    Several programs in our fastest online MHA programs ranking can be finished in 12 months of full-time study. CUNY Lehman College's 30-credit M.S. in Health Services Administration uses seven-week terms to enable one-year completion. UT Rio Grande Valley's 36-credit MBA in Health Care Administration and LSU-Shreveport's MHA also advertise 12-month timelines. Western Governors University's one-year MHA competency-based model lets motivated students finish even sooner.

  3. Is an MHA worth it financially compared to an MBA in healthcare?

    Both credentials lead to healthcare leadership roles, but an MHA is purpose-built for health systems operations, policy, and quality improvement, while an MBA emphasizes general business strategy. MHA holders often move into hospital administration, public health administrator roles, and managed care. If your goal is a leadership role inside a health system or government health department, the MHA typically offers a more direct path and competitive salary outcomes for a comparable or lower total cost.

  4. Do online MHA graduates qualify for Public Service Loan Forgiveness?

    Yes. PSLF is tied to the employer, not the degree format. If you work full time for a qualifying employer, such as a public health department, Veterans Affairs facility, or nonprofit hospital, and make 120 qualifying payments under an income-driven repayment plan, your remaining federal loan balance is forgiven. Online MHA graduates are fully eligible as long as they meet these employment and payment requirements.

  5. Can I transfer credits to reduce my total MHA program cost?

    Most programs accept 6 to 12 transfer credits, which can represent 15 to 30 percent of degree requirements. Walden University is the most generous, allowing up to 25 transfer credits toward its 51-credit Walden University MHA program. Lindenwood University accepts up to 9 credits4, and George Mason University accepts up to 12. Some schools also award credit for prior learning assessments, potentially covering 40 to 50 percent of total requirements when combined with transfer credits.

  6. Are affordable online MHA programs respected by employers?

    Employers in healthcare administration evaluate candidates primarily on accreditation, relevant experience, and demonstrated competencies. Programs holding CAHME accreditation (like Cal State Northridge) or AACSB accreditation (like LSU-Shreveport) carry strong recognition. Many hiring managers at hospitals, insurers, and public agencies now view accredited online degrees as equivalent to on-campus credentials, especially when applicants also bring professional experience.

  7. What is the difference between a fully online and hybrid MHA program?

    Fully online programs deliver all coursework, discussions, and exams through a learning management system, with no required campus visits. Hybrid programs blend online coursework with periodic in-person sessions, which may include weekend residencies, on-site practicums, or evening classes. Baruch College and Cal State Northridge, for example, use hybrid formats, while LSU-Shreveport and UT Rio Grande Valley are 100 percent online. Choose based on your schedule flexibility and proximity to campus.

Salary Outcomes and ROI: What Affordable MHA Graduates Actually Earn

An affordable tuition bill means little if the degree does not translate into higher earnings. The real question is how quickly graduates recoup their investment and whether lower-cost programs produce outcomes comparable to their pricier counterparts.

The Labor Market for MHA Graduates

Medical and health services managers, the primary career outcome for MHA holders, earned a median annual salary of $117,960 in 2024, according to Bureau of Labor Statistics data. That figure represents a strong mid-career benchmark, with the top quarter of earners exceeding $157,640 and the 90th percentile reaching $216,750. Entry points are also solid: even the 25th percentile earned $86,080, well above the median salary for all occupations.

Demand continues to accelerate. The BLS projects 23 percent job growth for this occupation through 2034, translating to roughly 142,900 new positions and more than 62,000 annual openings when factoring in retirements and turnover. Few graduate credentials offer this combination of high earnings and sustained demand.

Comparing Earnings to Debt

The most direct ROI measure compares what graduates earn after completing their degree to the debt they carry at graduation. Program-level earnings data (tracked at one, two, and four years post-completion) are not yet published for many of the affordable programs in our ranking, but institutional-level outcomes and median debt figures offer a useful proxy.

For context, the median graduate debt across these affordable MHA programs falls well below $20,000 in most cases. At the BLS median salary of $117,960, that debt could be repaid in less than a year of gross earnings, even before accounting for living expenses. When debt remains low and salary potential stays high, the payback period shrinks dramatically compared to programs where total borrowing exceeds $50,000 or $60,000.

Which Affordable Programs Show the Strongest Return

Using a ratio of institutional earnings to program cost as a rough gauge of value, several schools in our dataset stand out. Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center and CUNY Baruch College both combine low in-state tuition with institutional outcomes that track well above their price point. Western Governors University offers a flat-rate model that appeals to fast completers, while the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences (CAHME-accredited) and UNC Chapel Hill deliver strong institutional outcomes relative to their total cost.

California State University East Bay, California State University Northridge, and University of Illinois Chicago round out the list of programs where the cost-to-earnings ratio favors graduates. These schools charge public-institution tuition while producing alumni who enter a labor market paying well into six figures.

Is an MHA Worth It?

When median earnings within a few years of graduation exceed $70,000 to $90,000 at the institutional level, and typical debt loads at affordable programs stay under $17,000, the math tilts strongly in favor of the degree. Graduates reaching the BLS median salary can expect to recoup their entire investment within 12 to 18 months of full-time work. For those entering public health departments, VA hospitals, or nonprofit systems, Public Service Loan Forgiveness can eliminate remaining balances after ten years of qualifying payments, further strengthening the case for borrowing strategically to complete an affordable MHA.

Earnings vs. Debt at Affordable Online MHA Programs

How much do graduates earn relative to what they borrow? The chart below compares institutional median earnings ten years after enrollment against median debt at completion for several of the most affordable online MHA programs. A higher earnings bar paired with a lower debt bar signals a stronger return on investment. Program-level earnings data are not yet available for most of these programs, so the figures shown reflect institution-wide outcomes reported by the U.S. Department of Education.

Grouped bar chart comparing median 10-year earnings and median debt at completion for seven affordable online MHA programs, 2023 data

Paying for Your Online MHA: PSLF, Assistantships, and Employer Tuition Benefits

There are two distinct ways to pay for your online MHA: write a check each semester from personal savings, or build a funding stack that could cut your net cost by half or more. The total program figures we ranked by are a starting point; what you actually repay often depends on the repayment and benefit strategies you assemble before your first class.

Public Service Loan Forgiveness: A 10-Year Path to Debt Elimination

Public Service Loan Forgiveness (PSLF) remains one of the most powerful tools for MHA graduates who plan careers in government or nonprofit healthcare. The eligibility hinges entirely on your employer, not on your degree title. If you work full-time, at least 30 hours per week, for a qualifying government agency, a 501(c)(3) nonprofit, or a public health department, your federal direct loans can be forgiven after 120 qualifying payments under an income-driven repayment plan. Plans that count toward PSLF include SAVE, PAYE, IBR, and ICR.1

For example, a graduate employed at a Veterans Affairs medical center (see VA's PSLF eligibility guide) could see their remaining loan balance wiped after a decade of payments; similar eligibility holds for employees of a county health department or a Kaiser Permanente entity (largely structured as 501(c)(3) nonprofits).3 For-profit health systems do not qualify for PSLF, so an employer like HCA Healthcare would not put you on the forgiveness track even if the role itself serves a public good.2 The VA additionally offers the Education Debt Reduction Program (EDRP), a separate student loan repayment benefit for certain clinical and administrative roles, which can further ease the debt load while you work toward PSLF.

Employer Tuition Reimbursement: Immediate Cost Reduction Each Semester

Many health systems pay for a substantial chunk of your degree while you remain on the job. The IRS sets a tax-free limit of $5,250 per year for employer educational assistance, as detailed in the AAMC's employer educational benefits overview, and most large hospital systems design their reimbursement policies around that ceiling. HCA Healthcare, for instance, provides up to $5,250 annually, while Kaiser Permanente offers between $3,000 and $5,000. Federal employers like the VA also typically extend tuition assistance benefits to full-time employees pursuing a relevant advanced degree.

Typical policies require a minimum GPA of 3.0 and often six to twelve months of prior service before you become eligible. If your employer reimburses $5,250 each year and your program spans two years, that's over $10,000 subtracted directly from your total cost, a 35 percent or higher reduction on many of the affordable programs ranked here. The key is to confirm the written policy before enrolling and to structure your course load to maximize the annual reimbursement without exceeding the cap.

Graduate Assistantships: Limited but Not Off the Table

Online MHA students generally lack the same broad access to graduate assistantships that on-campus cohorts enjoy.1 Most GA positions, teaching support, lab coordination, departmental research, are designed for students who can be physically present. However, a handful of programs do offer remote research or administrative assistantships to distance learners. These positions may provide tuition waivers, stipends, or both, but availability is inconsistent and competition tends to be steep. If an assistantship is critical to your funding plan, inquire directly with the program coordinator before applying; do not assume any online offering includes remote GA slots.

Stacking Strategies to Lower Your Net Cost by 30, 70%

The real leverage comes from layering multiple funding sources. A student enrolled in a $30,000 online MHA who works full-time at a qualifying nonprofit hospital could receive $10,500 in employer tuition reimbursement over two years and simultaneously make income-driven loan payments that track toward PSLF. The out-of-pocket expense during the program shrinks to under $20,000, and the remaining federal loan balance may ultimately be forgiven after 10 years of public service. Even without PSLF, combining a modest GA stipend with an employer's annual reimbursement often pushes the effective price of an already-affordable program into territory that requires little to no private borrowing. Before you commit to a program, map out every benefit you are eligible for; the sticker price is rarely the bill you will actually pay.

Fully Online vs. Hybrid MHA Programs: What the Format Actually Looks Like

Not every program on this list works the same way once classes start. Some are entirely asynchronous, letting you log in from any state on your own schedule. Others blend online coursework with required campus visits, cohort weekends, or evening residency sessions. Understanding the difference matters because the format shapes both your learning experience and your real costs.

Pros
  • Fully online programs like CUNY Lehman, LSUS, Cal State East Bay, UA Fort Smith, and American Public University eliminate travel costs entirely and let you study from any state.
  • Maximum scheduling flexibility in 100% online formats allows working professionals to complete coursework around hospital shifts, agency hours, or family obligations.
  • Online programs that charge a flat tuition rate to all students, such as LSUS at $7,349 regardless of residency, remove geographic cost penalties for out-of-state learners.
  • Hybrid immersions at schools like Weber State, UNLV, CSUN, FIU, Baruch, and UIC create face-to-face networking with classmates and faculty who often hold executive healthcare roles.
  • Campus residency components provide direct access to on-site career services, alumni networking events, library databases, and simulation labs that purely online formats cannot replicate.
  • Cohort bonding during hybrid weekends builds professional relationships that graduates frequently cite as valuable long after completing the degree.
Cons
  • Hybrid residency requirements at programs like UNC Chapel Hill, UIC, and Weber State can add $1,000 to $3,000 or more in airfare, hotel, and meal costs per immersion, none of which appears in published tuition figures.
  • Fully online formats offer less spontaneous peer interaction, which can make it harder to build the professional network that healthcare employers increasingly value.
  • Hybrid schedules with fixed on-campus dates reduce flexibility, potentially conflicting with clinical or administrative work shifts that cannot be rescheduled.
  • Students in 100% online programs may need to arrange their own local internship or preceptorship placements without the institutional site connections a campus program provides.

More Affordable Online MHA Programs Worth Considering

The programs below sit just outside the top-ranked group, but they remain among the lower-cost online MHA options for 2026. Each entry gives you the location, delivery format, and program details so you can weigh them against your own schedule, budget, and specialization interests. For the ranked list and the methodology behind it, start with the main MHA hub; if speed matters more than cost, compare the fastest MHA programs, and if testing is your barrier, review the no-GRE options.

Weber State University
A hybrid MHA that combines online coursework with evening classes, structured so working professionals can finish in four semesters. Core topics include healthcare finance, facility management, health law, and human resources, and no GRE or GMAT is required.
University of Arkansas-Fort Smith
A fully online Master of Science in Healthcare Administration that can be completed in as little as two years. The 34-credit curriculum covers healthcare policy, finance, operations, and strategic management, with coursework built around leadership, ethics, and systems thinking.
Southwest University at El Paso
A fully online, 24-month Master of Science in Health Administration built around 16 courses. Topics include healthcare data analytics, quality and risk management, law and ethics for healthcare organizations, and managerial accounting and finance, closing with an integrative capstone.
University of Nevada-Las Vegas
A hybrid MHA housed in the School of Public Health that full-time students can complete in two years across 45 credits. The curriculum spans healthcare finance, strategic planning, human resources, law and policy, quality improvement, and information systems.
University of Management and Technology
A fully online, 45-credit MHA with rolling admissions and no GMAT or GRE requirement. Core coursework covers health economics, financial management, law and ethics, and organizational behavior, with electives in managed care and global health and a capstone in health policy.
Louisiana State University-Shreveport
A fully online MHA with a 12-month fast track option, structured around 10 courses. Students study budgeting and price analysis, data analytics, organizational behavior, and strategic planning, with tutoring, advisement, and mentoring available online.
Rasmussen University-Minnesota
An online MHA covering 48 credits across 12 courses, with an option to finish in as few as 18 months. The curriculum addresses quality management, healthcare policy, information systems, and strategic planning, and employer reimbursement and military benefits are supported.
Stony Brook University
A fully online, 51-credit MHA delivered asynchronously with optional synchronous sessions. The program pairs core management coursework in finance, human resources, and operations with population health topics, and includes a capstone plus an integrative experience at a healthcare organization.
Utah Tech University
An online MHA totaling 42 credits, taught through asynchronous, semester-length courses. The curriculum emphasizes healthcare finance, policy, operations, and strategic management, with internships, study abroad, and research projects connecting coursework to practice.
Western Governors University
A competency-based online MHA with 10 courses and a capstone, offered with monthly start dates and no set class times. Tuition is charged at a flat rate per six-month term rather than per credit, so students who move quickly can lower their total cost.
University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
The MHA program pairs an on-campus path for recent graduates with an online option, along with graduate certificates for specialized training. Coursework centers on leadership, finance, policy, and organizational management with an applied focus.
Marshall University
A fully online, 30-credit Master of Science in Health Care Administration that can be finished in as little as 18 months. The curriculum covers healthcare financial management, economics, legal issues, and information systems, plus a field research course.
University of Louisiana at Monroe
An online Master of Public Administration with a concentration in Administration of Health, designed for non-clinical professionals. The 36-credit program uses eight-week courses and draws health-focused electives from nursing, gerontology, and occupational therapy.
Purdue University Global
An online Master of Health Care Administration covering 52 quarter credits across 13 courses, with full-time and part-time pacing. The curriculum addresses organizational development, financial management, operations, law and ethics, and health information systems, ending in a practice-focused capstone.
University of Arizona
A fully online, asynchronous Master of Healthcare Management with concentrations in Healthcare Leadership, Healthcare Informatics, and Healthcare Innovation. A hands-on consulting project gives students applied experience, and the flexible pace allows completion in as little as 12 months.

Recent Articles

See all articles