Best Online MPP Programs for South Dakota Students (2027)
Ranked by affordability, accreditation, and career outcomes — nationwide online MPP programs accessible from South Dakota.
By Carrie HirschReviewed by PAP Editoral TeamUpdated August 29, 202625+ min read
What you’ll learn in this article…
No South Dakota university offers an online MPP, but at least 25 nationally accessible programs accept South Dakota residents.
Several public universities charge flat online tuition rates, making affordable out-of-state MPP options readily available.
NASPAA accredited programs meet the gold standard for public policy education and strengthen career prospects nationwide.
South Dakota's 2.3 percent unemployment rate signals strong demand for policy trained professionals across the state.
South Dakota's expanding need for policy analysts in tribal governance, state agencies, and rural health systems runs headlong into a simple reality: no university in the state offers an online Master of Public Policy. That gap pushes South Dakota students into a national market where tuition models, accreditation status, and program structure vary widely. The practical tension is real. Out-of-state tuition can range from roughly $18,000 to over $75,000, and not every program carries NASPAA accreditation, the recognized quality benchmark for public policy and administration degrees.
The good news is that dozens of regionally and nationally accredited online MPP programs accept South Dakota residents at flat-rate or reduced tuition. Several are built for working professionals managing obligations across time zones and remote communities, a common profile in a state where the nearest campus may be hours away. Students in neighboring states face the same challenge; those in Montana, for example, navigate a similar search for online MPP programs Montana.
Top Online MPP Programs for South Dakota Students
South Dakota does not currently have an in-state university offering an online Master of Public Policy, so students need to look beyond state lines. The programs below are nationally accessible online and hybrid MPP options that accept South Dakota residents, ranging from fully online degrees to flexible hybrid formats.
Factors considered
Academic quality and reputation
Online or hybrid accessibility
Affordability for out-of-state students
Student outcomes and graduation
NASPAA accreditation where applicable
Sources
Independent program research
NCES-IPEDS federal institutional data covering graduation rates, retention rates and student-faculty ratios — nces.ed.gov
Duke University is a private research university. Its NASPAA-accredited Master of Public Policy is a full-time residential program for early-career professionals, with concentrations such as Development Policy and Energy and Environment Policy, dual degree options, and financial aid. As a private school, Duke charges one tuition rate for all students, so South Dakota residents pay the same as North Carolina residents. The typical net price after aid is $29,612, and the institution-wide graduation rate is 96.8%.
View 3 programs
NASPAA accredited
NASPAA accredited
Full-time residential MPP for early-career professionals
Binghamton University, part of the SUNY system, offers a fully online, asynchronous Master of Public Policy that can be completed in one year full-time. The program emphasizes data analysis, policy modeling, and applied policy projects, and is designed for working professionals. As a public university, Binghamton charges in-state graduate tuition of $11,310 and out-of-state tuition of $24,500; South Dakota residents pay the nonresident rate. The typical net price after aid is $21,620, and the institution-wide graduation rate is 81.6%.
View program
Fully online and asynchronous
One-year full-time completion
Fall, spring, summer terms
Focus on data analysis and policy modeling
Applied policy projects and policy laboratory
Affordable out-of-state online tuition
Prepares for government, nonprofit, private sector
Brown University is a private Ivy League research university whose online MPP is a 16-month program for experienced professionals. The curriculum integrates leadership, data-driven analysis, and interdisciplinary frameworks with a global lens on social and economic policy. As a private university, Brown charges a single tuition rate regardless of state residency; the typical net price after aid is $25,184. The institution-wide graduation rate is 95.7%.
Johns Hopkins University is a private research university offering a Master of International Public Policy through its School of Advanced International Studies. The hybrid program is built for seasoned professionals with at least seven years of work experience, with concentration options in areas like International Economics and Finance, Security Strategy and Statecraft, and Technology and Culture. As a private university, Johns Hopkins charges one tuition rate for all students; the typical net price after aid is $18,809. The institution-wide graduation rate is 93.8%.
View program
Requires 7+ years of professional work experience
32 credits; one year full-time or 2-3 years part-time
The Ohio State University is a large public research university whose Master of Arts in Public Policy and Management serves working professionals with at least three years of experience. The hybrid program includes evening classes, 38 credit hours, and a capstone course, with no GRE required. As a public institution, graduate tuition is $12,890 for Ohio residents and $41,729 for out-of-state students; South Dakota residents pay the higher nonresident rate. The typical net price after aid is $17,339, and the institution-wide graduation rate is 87.7%.
View program
NASPAA accredited
38 credit hours; most complete in five semesters
Hybrid format with evening classes
Requires three years of work experience
Minimum 3.0 GPA; no GRE required
Core in public policy, economics, management, and decision support
Rutgers University is a public research university in New Jersey whose NASPAA-accredited MPP blends economics, quantitative methods, research design, and public management. Students choose from 14 concentrations, including health, environment, social justice, and urban policy, and complete a 300-hour internship and a group policy research practicum. Graduate tuition is $20,616 for New Jersey residents and $35,064 for out-of-state students, so South Dakota residents pay the nonresident rate. The typical net price after aid is $24,406, and the institution-wide graduation rate is 83.6%.
The University of Washington Bothell is a public university in Washington whose Master of Arts in Policy Studies is an interdisciplinary, evening cohort program focused on evidence-based analysis and social change. Classes meet two to three times a week in person, so this option works best for students who can relocate to the Seattle area rather than complete fully from South Dakota. Graduate tuition is $17,688 for Washington residents and $31,707 for out-of-state students, with South Dakota residents paying the nonresident rate. The typical net price after aid is $12,319, and the institution-wide graduation rate is 65.3%.
The University of Massachusetts Amherst is a public research university offering a one-year, hybrid Master of Public Policy that blends online coursework with in-person classes. The program is designed for aspiring policy professionals and can be completed full- or part-time. Graduate tuition is $15,091 for Massachusetts residents and $33,407 for out-of-state students, so South Dakota residents pay the nonresident rate. The typical net price after aid is $22,383, and the institution-wide graduation rate is 83.3%.
View program
One-year accelerated MPP
Full-time and part-time enrollment options
Hybrid format blending online and in-person classes
Designed for aspiring policy professionals
Prepares for government, nonprofit, private sector leadership
George Mason University is a public research university in Virginia whose Schar School MPP can be completed in a hybrid or fully online format, with evening courses for working professionals. The curriculum addresses policy development, technology and analytic modeling, and global perspectives, and the school's location near Washington, D.C., connects students to a wide policy network. Graduate tuition is $14,136 for Virginia residents and $36,480 for out-of-state students, with South Dakota residents paying the nonresident rate. The typical net price after aid is $17,915, and the institution-wide graduation rate is 67.8%.
View program
Military benefits
Hybrid or fully online format with evening classes
Access to Washington, D.C. policy network
80+ faculty members
Merit scholarships and military tuition assistance
The University of Houston is a public research university in Texas whose NASPAA-accredited MPP at the Hobby School covers economics, politics, ethics, and quantitative analysis. The 39-hour curriculum includes an internship, a capstone project, and electives for specialization. Graduate tuition is $9,019 for Texas residents and $18,199 for out-of-state students, so South Dakota residents pay the nonresident rate. The typical net price after aid is $14,276, and the institution-wide graduation rate is 64.6%.
View program
NASPAA accredited
NASPAA accredited
39-hour graduate curriculum
Internship and capstone project required
Electives for specialization
Focus on economics, politics, ethics, quantitative analysis
Virtual information sessions and application fee waivers
Why No South Dakota University Offers an Online MPP, and What That Means for You
If you have been searching for an online Master of Public Policy program based in South Dakota, you have probably noticed a gap. The state's universities offer graduate degrees in public administration, including the MPA and Executive MPA at the University of South Dakota, but none currently grant a standalone Master of Public Policy. Understanding why, and knowing your alternatives, puts you in a stronger position as you plan your next step.
MPA vs. MPP: A Quick Distinction
The two degrees overlap in some coursework, yet they prepare graduates for different roles. A Master of Public Administration centers on organizational management, budgeting, and the operational side of government and nonprofit agencies. A Master of Public Policy, by contrast, emphasizes quantitative analysis, econometrics, program evaluation, and evidence-based policy design. If your goal is to shape policy through rigorous data analysis rather than manage a department, the MPP is typically the better fit. South Dakota's institutions have historically leaned toward administration-focused curricula, which is why an MPP has not yet appeared in the state's graduate catalog. Neighboring states face a similar landscape; students in Nebraska, for example, also look beyond state borders for best online MPP programs for Nebraska students.
Out-of-State Online Programs Are Designed for You
The good news is that geography matters far less than it once did. Dozens of accredited universities across the country offer fully online MPP programs built specifically for working professionals. Asynchronous coursework, virtual capstone projects, and remote policy practicums mean you can earn the degree from Sioux Falls, Rapid City, or anywhere in the state without relocating. Admissions offices at these programs are accustomed to enrolling students nationwide, so residency is not a barrier.
Tuition Breaks Worth Exploring
South Dakota participates in the Western Interstate Commission for Higher Education (WICHE) compact, which includes several reciprocity and tuition-reduction agreements. Some online programs at member institutions extend discounted or in-state equivalent rates to South Dakota residents. Students in other WICHE states, such as Idaho, navigate similar options when comparing online master of public policy Idaho programs. Beyond WICHE, many universities now charge a single flat tuition rate for all online students regardless of where they live. We cover specific cost comparisons and reciprocity details in the affordability section below, so keep those options on your radar as you compare programs.
Your Credential Carries the Same Weight
One concern prospective students sometimes raise is whether an online degree looks different from one earned on campus. It does not. Accredited universities award the same Master of Public Policy credential to online and in-person graduates alike, with no designation on the diploma indicating delivery format. Employers and doctoral admissions committees see the same degree from the same institution. Choosing an online MPP from a well-regarded, accredited university gives you the analytical training South Dakota's programs do not currently offer, without compromising the value of your credential.
Most Affordable Online MPP Programs for South Dakota Students
Because no South Dakota university currently offers an online Master of Public Policy, students in the state will be enrolling as out-of-state learners. The good news: many public universities now charge a flat online tuition rate regardless of residency, and several programs listed below offer reduced rates for distance learners. The table is sorted by the institution-wide net price (lowest first) to highlight the most budget-friendly options. Keep in mind that net price figures are institution-wide averages for undergraduate aid recipients and are approximate; your actual graduate-level costs may differ. Program-level debt data is not yet available for these programs, so median graduate debt at the institutional level is included instead to give a general sense of borrowing patterns.
School
State
Out-of-State Tuition
Estimated Net Price (Institution-Wide)
Median Graduate Debt
Program Offered
Texas A&M University-Central Texas
TX
$13,586
$1,300
$17,750
Master of Public Administration
California State University-Sacramento
CA
$19,622
$9,338
$15,000
Master of Public Policy and Administration
University of Illinois Springfield
IL
$19,515
$9,833
$19,128
Master of Public Policy
University of Colorado Denver
CO
$27,154
$11,900
$20,500
Master of Public Policy
University of Washington-Bothell
WA
$32,757
$12,319
$14,615
Master of Arts in Policy Studies
Florida Gulf Coast University
FL
$31,216
$12,568
$17,622
Master of Public Administration
Worcester State University
MA
$6,813
$13,381
$19,500
Master of Public Administration and Policy
University of Southern Maine
ME
$26,676
$13,596
$19,060
Master of Public Policy and Management
NASPAA Accreditation and What It Means for Your MPP
NASPAA accreditation is the gold standard for graduate programs in public policy, public affairs, and public administration. Awarded by the Commission on Peer Review and Accreditation (COPRA), this designation signals that a program meets rigorous standards for curriculum design, faculty qualifications, student outcomes, and mission-driven public service education.1 For South Dakota students shopping for an online MPP, understanding accreditation status is one of the most important steps you can take before committing tuition dollars.
Why NASPAA Accreditation Matters
A NASPAA-accredited degree carries weight with employers across federal, state, and nonprofit sectors. Many competitive fellowship programs, government hiring tracks, and policy organizations either require or strongly prefer candidates who earned their degree from an accredited program. Accreditation also ensures your coursework covers core competencies such as policy analysis, program evaluation, public finance, and ethical leadership. Programs that hold "In Candidacy" status are actively pursuing full accreditation but have not yet completed the review process, so it is worth understanding where a program stands before enrolling.1 Students considering related credentials, such as mpa programs, will find that NASPAA accreditation applies equally to both MPA and MPP degrees.
How to Verify a Program's Accreditation Status
NASPAA's official roster of accredited programs, updated as recently as January 2026, is your starting point.2 However, the roster does not specify delivery mode, so it will not tell you outright whether a program is fully online.1 To identify online options, use the NASPAA school search tool, which does include a delivery mode filter.3 From there, take these additional steps:
Cross-check with the university: Most schools prominently display NASPAA accreditation badges on their program pages, along with candidacy milestones if applicable.
Contact NASPAA directly: If the directory seems outdated or a program's listing is unclear, reach out to NASPAA's accreditation office through their contact page for clarification.
Supplement your research: Professional associations like the Association for Public Policy Analysis and Management (APPAM) offer program directories and career resources. For broader career outlook data tied to policy careers, the Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS.gov) provides useful employment projections, though it does not cover accreditation details.
A Practical Note for South Dakota Students
Because no South Dakota institution currently offers an online MPP, you will be evaluating programs housed at out-of-state universities. Accreditation status becomes even more critical in this context. It serves as your assurance that a program you cannot visit in person still meets nationally recognized quality benchmarks. Take the time to verify each program's current status rather than relying solely on third-party lists, which may lag behind NASPAA's own records.
Earnings After an Online MPP: What the Data Shows
Program-level earnings data (such as median salary at one year and four years after completion) is not yet published by the College Scorecard for the MPP programs featured in our rankings. While institution-wide median earnings ten years after enrollment range from roughly $76,000 at George Mason University to nearly $98,000 at Duke University, these figures reflect all graduates across every program at each school, not MPP completers specifically. Individual outcomes will vary based on prior work experience, geographic location, and whether graduates enter the public, nonprofit, or private sector.
Career Outcomes and ROI After an Online MPP
One of the most practical questions South Dakota students ask before enrolling in an online Master of Public Policy is whether the degree will pay off. Because no in-state MPP exists, you will be investing in an out-of-state or private program, so understanding career outcomes and return on investment is essential.
Employment and Earnings After Graduation
Program-level employment and earnings data are not yet published for many of the online MPP programs available to South Dakota students. Federal reporting on graduate-level outcomes often lags, and several programs are relatively new or have small cohort sizes that delay disclosure. That said, institutional-level data offers useful context. Graduates from the universities featured in our rankings report median earnings ten years after enrollment ranging from roughly $62,000 to nearly $98,000, depending on the school. These figures reflect all graduates of each institution, not just MPP completers, but they signal the caliber of career trajectories these schools support.
MPP holders typically enter government agencies, nonprofit organizations, consulting firms, and research institutions. Because career mix varies from program to program, one school's median may skew higher if its graduates lean toward federal consulting or private-sector analytics, while another school's graduates may concentrate in state government or advocacy work at lower but still comfortable salaries. For a deeper look at compensation benchmarks across the field, our public administration salary guide breaks down earnings by role and sector.
Gauging Return on Investment
Across the top programs in our data set, the ratio of long-term institutional earnings to median graduate debt ranges from roughly 3.4 to over 7.5. In plain terms, graduates are earning several multiples of whatever they borrowed to complete their degrees. Duke University sits at the top of that range, while programs at the University of Houston and Rutgers University still deliver strong returns at more modest tuition levels.
For South Dakota students weighing cost against reward, a few reference points help frame the decision:
Median institutional debt: Ranges from about $13,000 to $23,500 across the featured schools.
Institutional earnings at ten years: Span from approximately $62,000 to $98,000.
Payback window: Even at the lower end of the earnings spectrum, graduates carrying debt in the $13,000 to $24,000 range can reasonably expect to recoup their investment within the first year or two of full-time employment.
Why Sector Choice Matters
Earnings after an MPP depend heavily on where you work. Federal policy analysts and management consultants in Washington, D.C., or major metros often command salaries at the higher end, while state-level positions in Pierre or Sioux Falls may start lower but offer benefits such as pension plans and loan forgiveness programs. Nonprofit and research roles fall somewhere in between. South Dakota students should weigh total compensation, including Public Service Loan Forgiveness eligibility, when comparing sectors rather than focusing on salary alone.
The bottom line: best online public administration degree programs accessible to South Dakota students consistently show graduates earning well above subsistence levels and recovering their educational investment quickly. Choosing a program with strong career services and alumni networks in your target sector will further improve those outcomes.
South Dakota's job market is tight in the best sense of the word. With an unemployment rate of just 2.3 percent as of March 2026 and roughly 480,700 people employed across a civilian labor force of about 491,800, employers across sectors regularly compete for qualified talent.1 For MPP graduates, that dynamic creates real leverage, even in a state with a relatively small population.
Policy-Relevant Occupations and Wages
Federal data from the Bureau of Labor Statistics offers a useful snapshot of the occupations most aligned with a public policy degree in South Dakota.2 Social and community service managers, who oversee programs in areas like housing, behavioral health, and workforce development, earn median annual wages in the range of roughly $65,000 to $85,000 statewide. Total employment in this category is modest, estimated at several hundred positions. Management analysts, a broad category that includes roles in government efficiency, program evaluation, and consulting, earn median wages in the approximate range of $70,000 to $90,000, with an estimated 500 to 1,000 employed across the state. Employment data for political scientists specifically is not reported at the state level for South Dakota, which is common in smaller states where the number of workers in niche occupations falls below reporting thresholds.
Where MPP Graduates Work in South Dakota
The state capital in Pierre anchors much of the public sector hiring, with agencies covering health, education, agriculture, and natural resources all employing policy professionals. Students weighing a related credential may also want to explore online MPA programs for South Dakota students, which share significant career overlap with MPP degrees. Beyond state government, South Dakota is home to nine tribal nations, each with its own governance structures, policy priorities, and administrative needs. Tribal governance roles span health policy, economic development, education, and natural resource management, areas where MPP training is directly applicable.
Rural health policy is another significant area of demand. With large portions of the state classified as medically underserved, organizations working to improve healthcare access need professionals who can navigate federal funding streams, evaluate program outcomes, and design community-level interventions. Those interested in this intersection should consider the path to becoming a public health administrator, a role that pairs well with MPP training. Agricultural policy also plays an outsized role here compared to most states, given the importance of farming and ranching to the economy.
The Nonprofit Sector and Regional Planning
South Dakota's nonprofit sector, while smaller in absolute terms than in more populated states, is active and growing. Organizations like the South Dakota Community Foundation channel philanthropic resources into community development, while regional planning councils (such as the Planning and Development Districts that cover the state) hire analysts and program managers to coordinate economic development, transportation, and land use planning. These organizations value the quantitative and qualitative skills that MPP programs emphasize.
A Small Market With Expanding Possibilities
The total number of traditional policy positions in South Dakota is limited. But the flip side is that competition for those positions tends to be less intense than in states with large metro areas full of policy schools. And increasingly, geography matters less. Remote work has opened the door for South Dakota residents to serve national nonprofits, federal agencies, consulting firms, and research organizations without relocating. Exploring the full range of careers in public policy can help you identify which path fits your goals. An online MPP positions you for both local opportunities and this broader, location-flexible policy job market.
How to Choose the Right Online MPP as a South Dakota Student
Because no South Dakota university currently offers an online Master of Public Policy, you will be shopping out of state. That gives you enormous flexibility, but it also means you need to weigh several practical factors before committing to a program. The checklist below will help you evaluate your options systematically.
Delivery Format: Asynchronous, Synchronous, or Hybrid
Most online MPP programs lean heavily on asynchronous coursework, meaning you watch lectures and complete assignments on your own schedule. That model is ideal if you work full time or live in a rural part of the state where reliable broadband windows are limited. Some programs blend in synchronous seminars held via video conference. If those sessions are scheduled on Eastern or Pacific time, check whether the time slot works for the Central time zone. A 7 p.m. ET seminar translates to 5 p.m. CT in Sioux Falls or Rapid City, which may or may not conflict with your workday.
Cohort-based programs start an entire class together each fall (or occasionally spring), while rolling-enrollment programs let you begin in multiple terms. Cohort models foster tighter peer networks and structured pacing. Rolling enrollment offers more flexibility if you need to start mid-year or take a semester off.
Tuition Reciprocity and the WICHE Factor
South Dakota is a WICHE member state, and residents are eligible for the Western Regional Graduate Program (WRGP).1 Under WRGP, you may pay no more than 150 percent of the host institution's resident tuition for covered graduate programs, which include master's and doctoral degrees as well as graduate certificates.1 However, WRGP eligibility is program-specific, not blanket. As of the 2025-2026 cycle, no online MPP program has been identified as participating in WRGP.1 That could change year to year, so it is worth searching the WRGP program list tool before you apply.
Also note that the longstanding South Dakota-Minnesota tuition reciprocity agreement has ended for new students.2 Do not count on discounted rates at Minnesota institutions. Many online programs already charge a flat tuition rate regardless of residency, which can work in your favor. Always confirm the per-credit cost listed on an admissions page specifically applies to online students in South Dakota. Students weighing a policy degree against a management-focused credential may also want to review online MPA programs North Dakota to compare regional options.
Residency Requirements and Travel
Some online MPP programs require brief on-campus intensives: orientation weekends, policy workshops, or a capstone residency that may last one to two weeks. From South Dakota, traveling to a campus in Washington, D.C., or California adds meaningful cost and time. Before enrolling, ask admissions offices directly whether any in-person component is mandatory, how often it occurs, and whether a virtual alternative exists. Programs that are fully online with no campus visits will keep your total cost of attendance lower.
Aligning Concentrations With South Dakota Career Goals
Not every MPP concentration fits the state's policy landscape equally well. Consider these areas that map closely to South Dakota's workforce needs:
Health policy: Rural healthcare access is a persistent challenge across the state, and health policy analysts are in demand at agencies, tribal health organizations, and regional hospital systems.
Rural policy or community development: Some programs offer tracks or electives focused on economic development, agriculture policy, and rural governance, all directly applicable to work in South Dakota communities.
Tribal governance: With nine federally recognized tribes in the state, tribal policy expertise is both needed and valued. A handful of MPP programs now offer coursework in Indigenous governance and federal Indian policy.
Emergency management: Severe weather, wildfire risk, and pandemic preparedness create steady demand for professionals who can design and evaluate emergency response policy.
If a program does not offer a formal concentration in your target area, look for capstone or practicum flexibility that lets you tailor a project to a South Dakota policy question. That applied experience can be just as valuable as a named specialization when you enter the job market.
Frequently Asked Questions About Online MPP Programs for South Dakota Students
South Dakota students exploring online Master of Public Policy programs often have questions about availability, costs, and career outcomes. Below are answers to the most common questions we receive, drawn from current program data and accreditation records.
Does any university in South Dakota offer an online Master of Public Policy?
As of 2026, no university in South Dakota offers an online Master of Public Policy degree. However, South Dakota students can enroll in accredited online MPP programs offered by universities in other states. Many of these programs charge flat online tuition rates regardless of residency, making them financially accessible. Some South Dakota institutions do offer related degrees, such as the online MPA, which may also align with your career goals.
What is the difference between an MPA and an MPP degree?
A Master of Public Administration (MPA) focuses on managing public organizations, budgeting, and leadership within government agencies or nonprofits. A Master of Public Policy (MPP) emphasizes policy analysis, program evaluation, and research methods used to design and assess public policies. Both degrees can lead to careers in public service, but an MPP is generally a stronger fit if you want to focus on data driven policy research and legislative analysis rather than organizational management.
Are online MPP programs NASPAA accredited?
Yes, several online MPP programs hold accreditation from the Network of Schools of Public Affairs and Administration (NASPAA), the recognized quality standard for public policy and public administration education. NASPAA accreditation ensures the program meets rigorous benchmarks for curriculum, faculty qualifications, and student outcomes. South Dakota students should prioritize NASPAA accredited programs, as this credential is valued by employers and can affect eligibility for certain federal positions.
How much does an online MPP cost for South Dakota residents?
Online MPP tuition varies widely depending on the institution. Among programs available to South Dakota students, estimated net prices typically range from roughly $15,000 to over $60,000 for a full degree. Many online programs offer a single tuition rate for all students regardless of state residency, which can make out of state programs surprisingly affordable. Financial aid, employer tuition assistance, and graduate assistantships can further reduce costs.
What can you do with a Master of Public Policy degree in South Dakota?
MPP graduates in South Dakota pursue careers in state and local government, tribal governance, healthcare policy, nonprofit leadership, and legislative analysis. Common roles include policy analyst, program evaluator, budget analyst, and government affairs specialist. South Dakota's growing needs in areas such as rural healthcare access, education policy, and economic development create strong demand for professionals with advanced policy training.
Do online MPP programs require a GRE score?
Many online MPP programs have moved away from requiring the GRE, especially since 2020. A growing number of NASPAA accredited programs now offer GRE waivers or have eliminated the requirement entirely, often accepting professional experience or a minimum undergraduate GPA as alternatives. South Dakota students should check individual program admissions pages for the latest requirements, as policies can change from year to year.
More Online MPP Programs Available to South Dakota Students
Beyond our top picks, South Dakota students have many additional online MPP programs to consider. The following directory includes programs ranked 11 through 25 in our analysis, all open to out-of-state learners.
University of Northern Iowa
Offers a 36-credit online Master of Public Policy (MPP) with synchronous Zoom sessions on Tuesday evenings, following a cohort model for two-year completion. Requires an internship and capstone practicum.
Part-time online MPP program focusing on policy analysis, research, and data-driven evaluation. Includes virtual live lectures, project-based assignments, and two on-campus immersions.
Online Master of Public Policy and Administration with concentrations in Public Management, Public Policy, and International Policy and Management. Interdisciplinary curriculum with real-world applications.
Hybrid MPP program from McGeorge School of Law, combining online coursework with in-person Saturday sessions in Sacramento. Concentrations include Environmental and Water Policy, Public Policy Advocacy, Non-Profit and Social Capacity Management, or Local Government.
Master of Public Administration and Policy (MPAP) in a blended format with face-to-face and online courses. 36-credit program includes a capstone fieldwork component for real-world experience.
Hybrid MPP program with online and on-campus options. Offers Graduate Public Service Internships with paid government work and tuition waivers. No entrance exam required.
Hybrid MPP program emphasizing case study research. Full-time or part-time options, customizable through certificates or graduate minors. Year-round admissions with quick decisions.
Hybrid MPP program allowing in-person or remote real-time attendance. 36 credits, two-year completion, with an accelerated five-year option for undergraduates.
Hybrid Master of Public Administration (MPA) designed for leadership in government and non-profit. 36-credit curriculum with military-friendly delivery.
Hybrid MPP program with online flexibility and in-person classes at Malibu campus plus a Washington, DC track option. 20-month program with generous scholarships and no GRE required.
University of Colorado Denver/Anschutz Medical Campus
Hybrid MPP program requiring 36 credits with core courses in research methods, economics, and policy design. Optional concentrations and a required internship or capstone.
Fully online Master of Public Policy and Administration (MPPA) with concentrations in Urban Planning, Nonprofit Leadership, and Local Government. 36 credits, completable in two years.
Hybrid Master of Public Policy and Management (MPPM) with concentrations in Community Planning and Sustainable Development or Public Policy and Public/Nonprofit Management. Reduced out-of-state tuition.
Hybrid Master of Public Policy & Administration (MPPA) with 8-week courses, cohort-based learning, and flexible formats. No standardized tests required.
Hybrid Master of Science in Public and Urban Policy focusing on urban challenges, social inclusion, and equity. Features an Urban Policy Lab for client projects with real-world clients.